Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2008, 09:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Default Mini OC'ing my E8400

Hi guys...
I'm not new to computing but to OC'ing I am.
My rig:
E8400 @ 3780 (9x420) 6:5 1008Mhz 4-4-4-12 CR2 tRD=6 latency=54,3Ms(says Everest)
Voltages are: NB:1.45 VDIMM:2.35 the rest:auto
ASUS Rampage Formula
G.SKILL DDR2 PC2-8500 1066Mhz CL5 4x1Gb
ASUS 4870 X2 will be arriving next week
WD Velociraptor 300Gb
Pioneer Blu-ray CD/DVD Writer
Samsung 275T Plus also arriving next week
ThermalTake Toughpower 1000W
ThermalTake Armor 8003BWS
Scythe Infinity for some cooling
I have restricted myself to max. 60C under load and seeing as that I like these tight timings, I seem to have achieved max clockspeed, that is with the very limited knowledge that I have. It is stable for now 8hours of Prime95 2hrs. consecutive runnings.
Please feel free to point out where I might have gone wrong in assembling this one, and running such settings...
One question: Earlier today I ran Prime95 8hrs. stable aswell with settings of 4-4-4-10, but after a couple of hours my LCD poster started blinking and Everest line-voltages and NB-voltage went zero (as shown in my taskbar), even with Prime happily crunching on.
A lucky guess made me change timings to 4-4-4-12 right away (I have most timings pinned down help from Everest) and this instability seems to have been solved.
Am I just kidding myself here or is this logical behavior for too short RAS delay please?
Thank you in advance...

Last edited by Cyanide55; August 15, 2008 at 09:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2008, 01:35 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

60 under load for me.. between 38-42 on idle..

e8400 @ 1.4v @ 4.2ghz
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 03:43 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Kudos ena, 60C under load running 4.2GHz is very impressive to me.
I'll have to consider water if I want to go higher.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 04:00 AM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Not in PPC's pocket.
Posts: 539

My System Specs

Default

I dont know what TRFC settings are available on the Rampage but I know that the G.Skill 4GB kits like around 48-52t.

I sometimes daydream about my E8400 and it doing 4Ghz 8x500 on 1.245Vcore. I love it LOL

EDIT: Doh, Just spotted you are running 4x1G, strike my comments about trfc. lol
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.

Last edited by turtletrax; August 17, 2008 at 04:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 05:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Yes 4X1Gb....I actually try running with a row refresh cycle time of 25.....maybe too low I don't know yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes