Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2007, 05:36 PM
Tartan2007's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Embrun, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Question AMD XP 2000+ Athlon Palomino

Hi All

I'm new to the posings here. I would like to know if I can overclock my Athlon processor on an ASUS A7N8X-X Socket A (462) Board. Yep. I have a 4 year old computer here with 2 GIGS of PC3200 RAM and 128 ATI Radeon 9600 PCI Video card.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2007, 05:51 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

I'm not familiar with the board, but we've still got a few folks around here running S462 so hopefully they'll pipe in.....

What kind of settings do you have in bios on that board? Folks had a lot of fun OC'ing the XPs, but if I remember correctly you had to keep a close eye on the temps. (They ran hot without OC....).

Welcome to the forums. (great avatar!)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2007, 07:47 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

I dont know that mobo, I'll google it later (wifey night) but I still have a 2000+xp max it would do in a nf2 mobo and a slk800 was 2100mhz but it has been @ 2000mhz on a crappy antec heatsink for the last2-3(?) years. They wernt great overclockers but you could still squeeze some performance out them.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2007, 08:36 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

Just raise up the fsb, since the multi is lock on tose cpu,

palomino ran ona 133 fsb if im right (ddr266) so with ddr400 you will have enough room for your ram. if you raise up fsb to 166 (ddr333) make sure you change your ram timing, otherwise it will stay on low timing because of the initail speed of 266mhz
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2007, 09:22 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The multiplier was not locked on Palominos. It was only locked on later generation Bartons (ie after the Athlon XP 3200+ was released and many system builders were overclocking 2500+ chips and customers didn't know any better b/c the BIOS read it as 3200+).

As for overclockability, that board should be just fine for overclocking, but I don't think you're going to be able to squeeze much out of that chip. Palominos ran HOT, so you're going to need some serious cooling in order to manage the heat output.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2007, 12:43 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Actually I think the Palominos were locked but you could do the graphite pencil trick and the Athlon XP's Thoroughbred B's were locked sometime around the 40th week of '03, the L1 bridges were laser cut at the factory. My Athlon XP 2200+ (1.8GHz) was made on week 52 of '03 and it's multiplier locked.

The nice thing with my Thoroughbred B core is it's a hybrid CPU meaning it's part Thoroughbred, part Barton. (Thorton) It's in ever way shape and form a Barton with the 13 die and a Vcore of 1.60 however the L2 cache was cut in half to 256K where the Barton is 512K and the FSB on the Thoroughbred B is 266 instead of being 333. The nice thing is this chip makes a decent Overclocker due to the lower FSB, lower Vcore and having a multiplier of 10.5. Team it up with an NF2 mainboard and PC3200 RAM containing a FSB of 400(200) gives you lots of headroom for achieving a higher FSB and keeping the temps cooler.

Here is an example
Increasing the FSB to 200 x 13.5 gives you 2700MHz with a Vcore increase of say 1.7-1.85 while leaving your FSB to RAM ratio at 1:1.

Now keep in mind I'm not saying you will achieve a stable 900MHz increase but it might be possible with proper cooling.

In the next couple of weeks I'm gonna put this theory to the test and see what happens. I'll be happy if I can get the FSB to 333 (166).
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com

Last edited by BALISTX; April 15, 2007 at 12:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2007, 08:06 PM
Tartan2007's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Embrun, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Default To All

Hi again

Ok... main message I am getting is if I'm going to overlock, get a better cooling uinit. Yes, you are all right. The Athlon XP 2000+ chip I have does run a bit hot. Mainboard : Asus A7N8X-X


Performance Rating : PR-1900 (estimated)
Multiplier : 12.5x
Front Side Bus Information :
Bus Speed : 133.1 MHz ( Have other choices 200 or 266)
FSB Frequency : 266.3 MHz (DDR)
Initial Frequencies :
Frequency : 1666 MHz (Currently what the chip is operating at)
FSB Frequency : 133 MHz
Performance Rating : PR-2000
Control Clock Frequency :
Type : None
Thermal Information :
Thermal Design Power : 41.3 W
Processor Temperature : 46 C
Core Power : 41.25 W (estimated)
Resistance : 0.58 C/W (estimated)
Processor Performance Information :
Throttle Mode AC : None
Throttle Mode DC : None
Current Configuration : None
Throttle : 1664 MHz

NorthBridge Information :
Architecture : Northbridge
Manufacturer : nVidia (ASUSTeK Computer Inc)
Codename : Crush18
Revision : C1
Bus Speed : 133.1 MHz
FSB Frequency : 266.3 MHz (DDR)

Voltages ( Fluctuate in real time)
Monitoring Chip : Asus ASB100
Voltage CPU : 1.79 V
+5V Voltage : 4.95 V
+12V Voltage : 12.54 V
Chassis Fan : 7500 rpm
Processor Temperature : 45 C
Mainboard Temperature : 27 C
Hard Disk Temperature SAMSUNG SP0802N : 36 C

** I have 2 gigs of memory. generic 512 DDR PC3200 400Mhz Ram chip, a 512 Kingston DDR PC3200 400Mhz chip, and one 1Gig DDR PC3200 400 Mhz Kingston RAm in the other socket.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2007, 08:13 PM
Tartan2007's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Embrun, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Default My Processor Info AMD Athlon XP 2000+ Palomino

From a program called Fresh Diagnose


Processor Info (from BIOS)
Socket Designation Socket A
Processor Type Central Processor
Processor Family Specific M1 Version
Manufacturer AMD
Processor Version AMD Athlon(tm) XP
Procesor ID ***************X
Supported Voltage(s) 1.7 Volts
Current Voltage 1.7 Volts
External Clock 133 MHz
Maximum Speed 3000 MHz
Current Speed 1666 MHz
Processor Status CPU Socket Populated, Status Enabled
Processor Upgrade ZIF Socket
L1 Cache Handle $09
L2 Cache Handle $0A
L3 Cache Handle N/A
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Athlon +6000 OC kcksteve Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 February 22, 2008 10:09 AM
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ 334th_Frenchie CPU's and Motherboards 10 June 8, 2007 09:50 AM
Countdown - HCF Folding team to the top 2000 pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 42 May 30, 2007 08:01 PM
AMD Athlon XP 2000+ Palomino & Cooling Tartan2007 CPU's and Motherboards 4 April 23, 2007 08:54 AM