Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 06:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 49
Default Hi Guys

Hello can i ask about overclocking?Well hope you dont mind. Well i am new in overclocking and i played around the bios in the DRAM timings and i place the latency into 2 LOL. After that i saved and exit then it POST. There has been 1 long beep and 3 -4 beeps. I read that it either the motherboard, Power Supply or RAM. Then i turned off the computer. After that it wont even start. When i turned the pc it dont start. Well there has been some fans spin but really short time and it stops (FANS of PowerSupply and CPU HSF). I just wonderin did i destroyed the motherboard? But theres a question in my head if i destoryed the motherboard shouldnt the FAN of the Power Supply Spin even thought the motherboard is bricked?


THANKS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 06:33 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Find the CLR CMOS jump and use it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 06:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 49
Default

well i did that waited for about 2mins then removed the cmos battery for about 30secs. I think its the power supply though coz it should work even though the motherboard is bricked? Am i right? If i plug the powersupply the fans should work but it just spins for about a sec then it stops. And now its not spinin at all
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 06:50 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blogz101 View Post
well i did that waited for about 2mins then removed the cmos battery for about 30secs. I think its the power supply though coz it should work even though the motherboard is bricked? Am i right? If i plug the powersupply the fans should work but it just spins for about a sec then it stops. And now its not spinin at all
You can't brick a motherboard by changing the memory timings around.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 06:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 49
Default

I see (My bad). But i think its the powersupply. coz it powers for just a sec and then power loss. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 08:15 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

You set the timings too agressively. You have to:
  1. disconnect the external PSU cable.
  2. press the power switch to drain the caps
  3. remove the CMOS battery
  4. jump the CMOS header to clear
  5. install the battery
  6. connect the external PSU cable
  7. press the power switch again
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 09:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 49
Default

I did that with no avail :D. anyway its a very old rig 1998. I think the powersupply failed coz i believe that if i plug the powersupply in the AC outlet it should work(the Fan spining), but theres no fan spining. I guess it the powersupply.

Correct me if im wrong
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 05:39 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

You have to jump the PSU in order to start it alone. Plug a few fans at the Molex connectors, and jump pins 4 (Green wire) and 6 (black wire). That's looking straight on at the connector, with the safety tab on top. Both pins are on the top row.

Then flip the PSU switch. Works?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 08:08 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

you may also try a 24hrs clear cmos.

it have save my ass more then once on my both DFI rigs ....
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 07:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 49
Default

thanks for replies
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes