Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2007, 11:10 PM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default OCCT Stable 1/2

Upped the voltage a tad and decided to make the push for 3.6 stable :)
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2007, 05:15 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Nice oc- what is your voltage now?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2007, 08:56 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Nice Oc - 3.6Ghz is what i use for 24\7 Use.

What voltage your running through the chip now ?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2007, 11:34 AM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

well...that would all depend on what utility you wish to believe lol

I have it set at 1.575v but it reports it as 1.54v
Bios Monitor reports it as 1.53v
Everest reports it as 1.55v
CPUZ won't acknowledge it...
I simply keep increasing the voltage until it's stable so...meh, whatever works
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2007, 12:55 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch View Post
well...that would all depend on what utility you wish to believe lol

I have it set at 1.575v but it reports it as 1.54v
Bios Monitor reports it as 1.53v
Everest reports it as 1.55v
CPUZ won't acknowledge it...
I simply keep increasing the voltage until it's stable so...meh, whatever works
Same thing here... And i suppose it would require a vdroop mod to get it to be accurate.

With my X6800 it needed 1.47v set in Bios to get 3.6Ghz stable. But in all windows based programs all would report about 1.44v ?!

Oh well, like you said... I just raised voltage until it was stable!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2007, 03:29 AM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

My general rule of thumb lately has been to just keep upping it until I get a 24/7 stability. As long as my chip isn't running ridiculously hot, I don't worry about it.

~M
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pls.... help!! Looking for a more stable driver for the XFX 7600GT 256 AGP.... Canadianguy Video Cards 12 December 11, 2007 07:02 PM
4Ghz Q6600 Prime stable turtletrax CPU's and Motherboards 14 August 13, 2007 10:05 AM