Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 09:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default E8400 and Rampage OC - 1st Time

As the topic says, I want to jump into my first overclock. I am not looking to be overly aggessive, I would be happy to take my proc to a nice and stable 3.6ghz-3.8ghz from the stock 3ghz. I am using an Arctic Pro7 for air cooling. Again, I do not want to risk upping the voltage to high, so that is why I am asking for help here. Can you guys give me some advice on safe settings? So far I have upped my FSB to 400 and raised the voltage to 1.25. My OC is at 3.6ghz I believe. Everything seems stable so far. Also, when i applied my setting, my Ram spped went down from 1066 to 967. Is this normal?

Thanks in advance!

Asus Rampage Formula
Wolfdale E8400 Proc
Arctic Pro7 Cooler
EvGA 8800GTS 512 (G92)
Thermaltake 750W PS
G.Skill PC2 8500 4Gigs
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 10:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 48
Default

IntelŪ Core?2 Duo Desktop Processor E8400 - SLAPL


SLAPL
3 GHz
06
1333 MHz
9
6 MB
3 GHz
LGA775
45 nm
C0
10676h
65W
72.4°C
0.85V – 1.3625V
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 11:15 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrown2410 View Post
As the topic says, I want to jump into my first overclock. I am not looking to be overly aggessive, I would be happy to take my proc to a nice and stable 3.6ghz-3.8ghz from the stock 3ghz. I am using an Arctic Pro7 for air cooling. Again, I do not want to risk upping the voltage to high, so that is why I am asking for help here. Can you guys give me some advice on safe settings? So far I have upped my FSB to 400 and raised the voltage to 1.25. My OC is at 3.6ghz I believe. Everything seems stable so far. Also, when i applied my setting, my Ram spped went down from 1066 to 967. Is this normal?

Thanks in advance!

Asus Rampage Formula
Wolfdale E8400 Proc
Arctic Pro7 Cooler
EvGA 8800GTS 512 (G92)
Thermaltake 750W PS
G.Skill PC2 8500 4Gigs

YEs the ram speed dropped as teh divider and strap was changed when you upped FSB, perfectly normal. Try these, leave the settings missing here as auto.(from maximus bios, same board, different chipset, bioses are interchangable)

Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
CPU Ratio Control : Manual
- Ratio CMOS Setting : 9
FSB Frequency : 400
FSB Strap to North Bridge : 400
PCI-E Frequency: 100

DRAM Frequency: DDR2- 1066
DRAM Command Rate : 2N
DRAM Timing Control: Manual
CAS# Latency : 5
RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
RAS# Precharge : 5
RAS# ActivateTime : 15
RAS# to RAS# Delay : 3
Row Refresh Cycle Time : 60
Write Recovery Time : 8
Read to Precharge Time : 3

Read to Write Delay (S/D) : 8
Write to Read Delay (S) : 3
Write to Read Delay (D) : 5
Read to Read Delay (S) : 4
Read to Read Delay (D) : 6
Write to Write Delay (S) : 4
Write to Write Delay (D) : 6

DRAM Static Read Control: Enabled
Ai Clock Twister : Strong
Performance Level : Disabled (0)

CPU Voltage : 1.25v
CPU PLL Voltage : 1.5v
North Bridge Voltage : 1.45v
DRAM Voltage : 2.02v
FSB Termination Voltage : 1.20v
South Bridge Voltage : 1.050v
Loadline Calibration : Enabled
CPU GTL Reference : 61
North Bridge GTL Reference : 67
DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : DDR2 REFF
DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : DDR2 REFF
DDR2 Controller REF Voltage : DDR2 REFF
SB 1.5V Voltage : 1.5v

NB LED Selection : FSBT Volt
SB LED Selection : SB Volt
CPU LED Selection : CPU Volt
Voltiminder LED : Enabled

CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled


You can also try to set 5-5-4-15 for ram, some will work 5-5-3-15, test with memtest 2.01.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 07:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you very much for the feedback. I greatly appreciate it
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes