Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 07:11 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default caDAVEca's Overclocking adventures.

I popped into the Vantage thread, and kruzn4evr asked me about settings. I'm the type of guy that's never happy with one particular config, and I am constantly changing my rig, so I thought I'd chronicle it here.

FIrst, let's start with the rig specs:

Intel QX9650
ASUS Maximus Formula SE
4GB Crucial pc5300 3-3-3-12 (8FE4)
2x Radeon HD3870x2 in CrossfireX
ASUS Ageia Phys-X P1
Enemax Galaxy 1000w DXx.


The settings:


Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
CPU Ratio Control : Manual
- Ratio CMOS Setting : 10
FSB Frequency : 417
FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
PCI-E Frequency: 115

DRAM Frequency: DDR2- 1009
DRAM Command Rate : 2N
DRAM Timing Control: Manual
CAS# Latency : 5
RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
RAS# Precharge : 5
RAS# ActivateTime : 15
RAS# to RAS# Delay : 3
Row Refresh Cycle Time : 60
Write Recovery Time : 8
Read to Precharge Time : 3

Read to Write Delay (S/D) : 8
Write to Read Delay (S) : 3
Write to Read Delay (D) : 5
Read to Read Delay (S) : 4
Read to Read Delay (D) : 6
Write to Write Delay (S) : 4
Write to Write Delay (D) : 6

DRAM Static Read Control: Enabled
Ai Clock Twister : Strong
Performance Level : Enabled (0)

CPU Voltage : 1.3625v
CPU PLL Voltage : 1.5v
North Bridge Voltage : 1.45v
DRAM Voltage : 2.12v
FSB Termination Voltage : 1.20v
South Bridge Voltage : 1.050v
Loadline Calibration : Enabled
CPU GTL Reference : 61
North Bridge GTL Reference : 67
DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : DDR2 REFF
DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : DDR2 REFF
DDR2 Controller REF Voltage : DDR2 REFF
SB 1.5V Voltage : 1.5v

NB LED Selection : FSBT Volt
SB LED Selection : SB Volt
CPU LED Selection : CPU Volt
Voltiminder LED : Enabled

CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled

I'll go through and list several different configs, what I changed, and how it affected the system. Maybe someone will find this some help!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 07:39 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,819

My System Specs

Default

Managed to break 440FSB by any chance?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 09:05 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Yes. Fully stable for 24hrs of prime, but I do not like running voltages that high for too long. The run at these settings(I keep a logbook) did however have a "burn-in" effect, and I can now run 4ghz @ 1.280v, when it used to require 1.30v.


Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
CPU Ratio Control : Manual
- Ratio CMOS Setting : 9.5
FSB Frequency : 444
FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
PCI-E Frequency: 115

DRAM Frequency: DDR2- 1067
DRAM Command Rate : 2N
DRAM Timing Control: Manual
CAS# Latency : 5
RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
RAS# Precharge : 5
RAS# ActivateTime : 15
RAS# to RAS# Delay : 3
Row Refresh Cycle Time : 60
Write Recovery Time : 8
Read to Precharge Time : 3

Read to Write Delay (S/D) : 8
Write to Read Delay (S) : 3
Write to Read Delay (D) : 5
Read to Read Delay (S) : 4
Read to Read Delay (D) : 6
Write to Write Delay (S) : 4
Write to Write Delay (D) : 6

DRAM Static Read Control: Enabled
Ai Clock Twister : Strong
Performance Level : Disabled (1)

CPU Voltage : 1.3750v
CPU PLL Voltage : 1.8v
North Bridge Voltage : 1.65v
DRAM Voltage : 2.12v
FSB Termination Voltage : 1.50v
South Bridge Voltage : 1.100v
Loadline Calibration : Enabled
CPU GTL Reference : 61
North Bridge GTL Reference : 67
DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : DDR2 REFF
DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : DDR2 REFF
DDR2 Controller REF Voltage : DDR2 REFF
SB 1.5V Voltage : 1.6v

NB LED Selection : FSBT Volt
SB LED Selection : SB Volt
CPU LED Selection : CPU Volt
Voltiminder LED : Enabled

CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 09:55 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,819

My System Specs

Default

Yeah even though I don't have an extreme CPU, anything past 425FSB for me results in some serious voltage increases. I can use stock voltages for 425, but even for 430 I need tons more volts.

Do you find having DRAM Static Read Control: Enabled to help anything? I see most people with it disabled.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 10:04 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

If it set disabled ram bandwidth is affected negatively, more preciscely, memory writes...I don't know what that setting does, exactly, but in the end it hasn't affected my clocks at all, and I've tried adjusting it at each and every interval of stability testing that failed. I've seen many others like you have, but I also see alot of sheep copying settings, and that doesn't help me push further.

I can clockgen to over 440FSB without the high cpuPLL volts, but not boot into Vista. FSB volt increase is needed as is NB volts, for long-term stabilty, as are teh SBv increases. If i can't turn my pc off, and come back ot the same settings at next boot without playing with anything, it's not stable, IMHO. I need to use it every day!

Going much further than that, well, it can get to 470 bootable, but I get hard USB dropouts starting @ 454, so I'm running into the X38 bug before hitting cpu limits. I've gotta swap out for another board, but funds area bit short for that ATM. Not much choices out there either...and I've yet to swallow buying DDR3 again for X48, but there isn't much else left for options with this cpu.

Anyone know where to buy a Foxconn X48 BlackOPs in Canada?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 12:59 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,819

My System Specs

Default

I rarely see many Foxconn boards make it up here. Usually it's only the low-end lines.

Guess I'll enable DRAM Static Read Control then, though I doubt I'll notice a difference anyway.

By any chance have you tried using the Rampage BIOS? I see you're quoted in the thread on XS. If so, did that help your clocks?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 02:00 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

DRAM Static Read Control has to do with the internal timings of the chipset, specifically the memory controller. Enabling = memory bandwidth so unless you are losing FSB, keep it enabled.

Re: BlackOps - haven't saw any at all.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 04:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
By any chance have you tried using the Rampage BIOS? I see you're quoted in the thread on XS. If so, did that help your clocks?
I found the Rampage bios posed other issues that I wasn't willing to accept. While at first it did make a difference, once successive bioses came out for the maximus, performance is within 1%, assuming you set everything manually. There is one single memory setting that would give me more bandwidth, but becuase overall latency wasn't affected, real-world difference would be even harder to notice.

XS is not what it was when I joined...still good info there, and lots of traffic, but lots of people have stopped posting the real good stuff. It's now more "I tried your settings, but it didn't work, what should I change" than even I like.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko
Re: BlackOps - haven't saw any at all.
Yeah, I've noticed alot of OEMs glossing over our fine country...gonna have to drop Sham a mail.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 04:57 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,819

My System Specs

Default

The main thing I like with the Rampage BIOS is that you can set the performance level easily. Seems rather cumbersome with the Maximus BIOS. Not sure how much it really helps though...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2008, 05:09 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
Maybe someone will find this some help!
Oh hell yeah.

Looks to me like you've got a pretty good chip. I know that there are quite a few QX9650's out there (i.e. mine) that need a full 1.4Vcore to be fully stable at 4.0Ghz. I can get mine game/benchmark stable up to 4.3, but up to 1.45Vcore is needed, which is more than I'm comfortable with.

I'm presently rebuilding my main rig (with the exact same mobo/CPU combo), which I'm hoping will grab me a little extra headroom to play with. Unfortunately, the vast majority of postings out there don't bother with anything over 3.6Ghz, which is frankly child's play on these chips. So I'd be quite interested in any observations/experiences that come your way.

btw, which BIOS are you using?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes