Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 15, 2016, 01:10 PM
Rookie

Default I need help.

Hi I recently bought a new pc for work related video editing and the occasional gaming session.

My PC specs are;

I7 6900K - cooled with a corsair h100i v2
GTX 1080 - founders edition
32GB DDR4 3000MHZ RAM.

I would like to overclock my graphics card and cpu but I am very new to this and I am scared I will find a way to **** it up. I tried overlocking my GPU with a gpu clock offset of +245 and a memory clock offset for 550mhz. When running a game later on my gpu turned into a leaf blower and I wasnt sure if it was meant to do that, is that bad or not? I do not know. I would also like to try and overlcok my cpu but I do not know how far to push it or what variables I should use, I watched a few videos but i'm still unsure and I do not want to push it as far as some of them yet. If someone could please help me that would be great, maybe spend a little bit of time over skype for some of it.
Old August 15, 2016, 01:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

You are aware that overclocking and work are mutually exclusive, right? As overclocking is the no1 enemy of the stability a working rig is supposed to have. Now with that in mind, the higher clocks you apply the hotter the card will get hence the leaf blower, which is absolutely normal. For the cpu you will have to see the reviews and taking it slow. Up the clocks in 50-100 MHz steps and test the stability for a few hours. When it starts to be unstable go back till you get absolute stability. Unless you want to run the occasional benchmark for some bragging rights.
Old August 15, 2016, 02:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs