Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2007, 11:03 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default A64 ocing questions

Hi all just found oc Canuck,s it's cool

I've oc'ed xp bartons no problem, but to clockup a 64 it seems I might as well forget everything and start over. I've read and printed off half a dozen
articles on a64 ocing still no luck, lots of bois resets,but by raising the fsb/htt?/ldt thingy I've gained 100 mhz .Hardware is Abit kn8 sli mobo, 2 x 1 gig OCZ platinum rev 2.0 ram , seasonics s12 500 watt psu , venice 3200, 2 x hitachi HD's in raid 0 , xp pro sp2. So my noob ocing question is what are some starter valves I could plug into the bios to get heading in the right direction?
thanks

btw should I just chuck this Abit board and get a DFI one ? if so what model ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2007, 11:11 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Ok so you read a lot of guides and still you don't understand how to overclock your 3200+ ?

Have a look at this one. That guide helped me a lot when i started overclocking my 4800+ ** A64 Overclocking Guide ** - Guru3D.com Forums

Oh and can i ask you why you started 2 threads ? lol
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2007, 11:15 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Welcome Jim! worry pas ta brain about les double posts- there are quite a few AMD ocer's around here who'll be able to get you started.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2007, 11:19 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
Oh and can i ask you why you started 2 threads ? lol
clumsy ? mouse made me do it ?

thanks for the welcome guys

Last edited by Jim; March 27, 2007 at 11:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2007, 11:47 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
clumsy ? mouse made me do it ?
I use the same excuse about the p@rn sites on wifes puter J/K.
Welcome aboard Jim I'm sure you will be able to learn all kidsa stuff here at Hardware Canucks. I've already learned a bunch in the short time i've been member.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd

Last edited by cdn_Madrach; March 27, 2007 at 11:48 AM. Reason: Bad word :(
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2007, 12:04 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Do you guys see any short comings in the hardware I listed , could that be a problem ?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2007, 12:06 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

No- it looks good, and apparently, while not an absolute overclocking beast, that board is pretty easy to tweak.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2007, 12:17 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Here is a very helpful thread for that board- check it out: (maybe ignore the first response, but the next ones are good)

help oc'ing ABIT KN8 ? tia - Hosting Industry Discussion
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2007, 12:24 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
No- it looks good, and apparently, while not an absolute overclocking beast, that board is pretty easy to tweak.
What would be the very best board for ocing ? ( by that I mean making the process least painful)

Last edited by Jim; March 27, 2007 at 12:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2007, 12:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,521

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
lots of bois resets
Before you look at another mobo, let's see what we can do with the one you already have..... :)

I've found for A64 oc'ing that OC's (not completely over the top ones) where a full cmos reset is required usually point to a mem problem.

The 3200's mem controller is not the strongest of the batch, and it could be that you're taxing it by trying to run 2X1 gig @ (1t).

First thing I'd do is drop down to (2t) and use a mem divider to keep your mem below it's rated speed (is it 3200/ddr400 or 4000/ddr500?).

From this point, ensure that you have any spread spectrums turned off in bios, and keep your HT between 800 & 1000.

With any luck, you should be able to push at least an extra 300 out of the proc without needing to increase your VID (proc voltage).

(If we're going to continue this attempt to bump that chip up, it'd be a lot easier if you put your system specs into a sig so that we don't have to hunt for your hardware.... :) ).

Oh BTW.... welcome to Hardware Canucks!!!!
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCing help please SpateD Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 January 23, 2008 08:38 AM
WTB: 939 OCing Mobo superdude101 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 28, 2007 08:57 AM
Good 939 Cooler for OCing BALISTX Water Cooling 5 August 6, 2007 07:43 PM
8800 GTS ocing problem ragenrok Video Cards 13 May 15, 2007 06:51 AM
Frustration OCing Pentium D 930 Forsaken502 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 May 5, 2007 05:04 AM