Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 08:54 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

That's a great looking OC on a FX60 chip.

Temps?

Have you played with the up multipliers at all? That's the benefit of the fx chips is that the multis aren't locked upwards.

What are you using for stability testing?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 09:08 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

So far I was just running 3D06 back to back. Idle temps are 33 and load 45-47. When I first got the chip a year ago I set the mutiplier to 14 up for 13 which ran cpu at 2.8 and on air my temps change like 1 degree I would encode video from my mini dv cam and play cod2 at same time and still manage 120fps plus never a problem. Gonna run Orthos too.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 10:12 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdn_Madrach View Post
So far I was just running 3D06 back to back. Idle temps are 33 and load 45-47. When I first got the chip a year ago I set the mutiplier to 14 up for 13 which ran cpu at 2.8 and on air my temps change like 1 degree I would encode video from my mini dv cam and play cod2 at same time and still manage 120fps plus never a problem. Gonna run Orthos too.
120 fps ? was that at 800 x 600 low settings ?
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 10:17 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
120 fps ? was that at 800 x 600 low settings ?
LOL, Nope.... 1280X1024 all settings on high:)
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 11:29 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, 3DMark `06 is depressing on a single core cpu no matter what clock it's running........ :)

Ooops.... talking about Cod2........ :)

NM
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 01:55 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdn_Madrach View Post
LOL, Nope.... 1280X1024 all settings on high:)
wow , my rig wouldn't do that, maybe 70 - 80 fps on a good day, wonder where my gear is lacking .
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 02:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Well..... not only does he have a kickass cpu.... he's also running 2 OC'd 1900's in crossfire........

That might have something to do with it.... :)

How's the OC treating you?

Tried to push it any further?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 02:48 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Plus my cpu is dual core. I have read but haven't tried yet that with a dual core machine and plenty of mem you can fire up a dedicated gaming server go to task manager set that process to affinity on one core then fire up the game on the other core sort of speak and be hosting a dedicated game and playing on it at the same time:)... and he who is closest to server has best ping The biggest plus is little to no performance hit. I'm gonna try it the next time I host a lan party at my house Lanning is the one thing I demand of my employees lol. Mind you I only have one employee lol. We have to have a lan at least one every few months cause there is nothin like gaming with a sub 20ms ping Trying to get Babrbarossa to pop in for the next one Oh by the way jim if I just play cod 2 at those settings I get around 200 fps. I do beleive though an 88oogtx single kicks the snot outta my cards combined Cheers.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 03:54 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdn_Madrach View Post
Plus my cpu is dual core. I have read but haven't tried yet that with a dual core machine and plenty of mem you can fire up a dedicated gaming server go to task manager set that process to affinity on one core then fire up the game on the other core sort of speak and be hosting a dedicated game and playing on it at the same time:)... and he who is closest to server has best ping The biggest plus is little to no performance hit. I'm gonna try it the next time I host a lan party at my house Lanning is the one thing I demand of my employees lol. Mind you I only have one employee lol. We have to have a lan at least one every few months cause there is nothin like gaming with a sub 20ms ping Trying to get Babrbarossa to pop in for the next one Oh by the way jim if I just play cod 2 at those settings I get around 200 fps. I do beleive though an 88oogtx single kicks the snot outta my cards combined Cheers.
Oh

Quote:
Oh by the way jim if I just play cod 2 at those settings I get around 200 fps
thats sick , I hate it ....feels lame

By the 8800 which do you mean? hopefully a cheap one. Guess what I'm asking is what is a cheap 2 card solution that could keep the fps up around 100 in high settings BF2 ? Seems I can get no more than 50 - 80 fps no matter what the res 800 x or 1280 x .

Last edited by Jim; April 6, 2007 at 04:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 04:33 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

A freind of mine runs 2 7900gt's and he gets 100+fps I think the 7900gs's are pretty close to that at about $160 per card The gt's are still like $300 per card. I think the 8800gts would probably get 100+fps in BF2142.....mind you it's a $400+ card.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd

Last edited by cdn_Madrach; April 6, 2007 at 04:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCing help please SpateD Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 January 23, 2008 08:38 AM
WTB: 939 OCing Mobo superdude101 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 28, 2007 08:57 AM
Good 939 Cooler for OCing BALISTX Water Cooling 5 August 6, 2007 07:43 PM
8800 GTS ocing problem ragenrok Video Cards 13 May 15, 2007 06:51 AM
Frustration OCing Pentium D 930 Forsaken502 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 May 5, 2007 05:04 AM