Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 08:37 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BALISTX View Post
I don't agree as I have seen others push the 2140 to 2.8-3.0 with an AC7 Pro and have lower load temps than 57C. However the fact that I have added 2 extra fans for a total of 5 120mm fans (3 intake, 2 exhaust) and the temps haven't changed would also lead me to believe that a) the limitations of the AC7 Pro. b) I need to reseat the AC7 Pro.
The AC is a great supplemental cooler to replace the stock fan but I don't recommend it to anyone doing any serious overclocking.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 03:57 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BALISTX View Post
I don't agree as I have seen others push the 2140 to 2.8-3.0 with an AC7 Pro and have lower load temps than 57C. However the fact that I have added 2 extra fans for a total of 5 120mm fans (3 intake, 2 exhaust) and the temps haven't changed would also lead me to believe that a) the limitations of the AC7 Pro. b) I need to reseat the AC7 Pro.
If you do reseat, check the flatness of your AC Pro.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2008, 06:10 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

So I decided to push a little further. I upped it from 2.6GHz to 2.8GHz and ran Orthos and after 30 mins my temps were showing 62C in Core Temp. The Easy Tune 5 Pro was showing the CPU temp at 46C. I don't know which one to believe. Here the settings I did.

FSB: 350
CPU Multi: 8x
vCore: 1.35
Memory Speed: 1050
vDimm: 2.1

On a plus side I broke 10,000 in 3DMark06



For the meantime I backed it down to 2.0GHz until I get some MX-2 thermal paste ordered. How Ever I noticed that Core Temp is still showing my temps at 36C at idle which is pretty high. I have tried 3 different versions of Core Temp and I have tried Speed fan, it says the same. TAT shows it running at 40C

This comfirms that I will need to reseat the AC7 and I think I will lap it as well.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2008, 06:15 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

There's a nice WC setup right next to me as I type this, waiting just for you...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2008, 06:19 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

I so want that WC setup but unfortunately bills have to come first grrrr.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2008, 07:31 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BALISTX View Post
So I decided to push a little further. I upped it from 2.6GHz to 2.8GHz and ran Orthos and after 30 mins my temps were showing 62C in Core Temp. The Easy Tune 5 Pro was showing the CPU temp at 46C. I don't know which one to believe. Here the settings I did.

FSB: 350
CPU Multi: 8x
vCore: 1.35
Memory Speed: 1050
vDimm: 2.1

On a plus side I broke 10,000 in 3DMark06



For the meantime I backed it down to 2.0GHz until I get some MX-2 thermal paste ordered. How Ever I noticed that Core Temp is still showing my temps at 36C at idle which is pretty high. I have tried 3 different versions of Core Temp and I have tried Speed fan, it says the same. TAT shows it running at 40C

This comfirms that I will need to reseat the AC7 and I think I will lap it as well.
Core temp and CPU temp are two different readings. AFAIK nobody trusts the CPU temp because nobody is really sure what it's reading.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2008, 07:38 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

ah so Core Temp it is. I hoped it I wouldn't have to reseat it. What a PITA this is going to be.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2008, 09:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 115
Default

I think you should reseat it...and check the contact between the CPU and the HSF. I found out my ACF7 is better than my Ninja..albeit being quite a bit louder Maybe because the Ninja is too big for the push-pin design...or maybe I just didn't mount it right or applied too much/too little paste all the times I mounted the Ninja.

The idle temps are a few degrees higher, but the load temps are lower. With my Ninja and S-Flex F temps were 73 max, now they're like 66...but it's a lot louder.
__________________
Antec NSK 6500 w/ TriCool intake, S-Flex F exhaust
Corsair HX520
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev1.0 @ 500FSB
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz 1.45V
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

Mushkin (996576) 2X1GB HP2-6400 @ 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
eVGA 7600GT KO @ 630/880
Seagate 7200.10 320GB

Samsung SH-162

Samsung 205BW

Logitech Media Keyboard
Logitech MX518

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2008, 12:51 PM
UrbKlr's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Truro, Nova Scotia
Posts: 17
Default

Have you tried lowering your voltage? I have a computer with a e2140 sitting right beside me, it's in an Antec 900 case, and has a Freezer7. I run it at 2.8GHz on 1.25v. The Freezer's are great, but not awsome, 50's load should be well within expectations.

BTW, My Freezer lapped keeps my e6550 at 56c load, at 3.4GHz 1.42v.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 920 3.78GHz (On M2R32-MVP)
ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe Wifi/AP Here, but not posting.
4GB Crucial Ballistx Tracers and Corsair XMS2
VisionTek Radeon HD4850 VF900 735/1100 1.148v
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2008, 03:51 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Well it turns out that the reason for the high temps was because the AC7 Pro and the CPU were not making proper contact, two of the push pins were damaged and not holding the AC7 on properly and I guess because of the weight it was slowly pulling the AC7 away from the CPU and that's why the temps were getting higher, even when I clocked the processor down to 2.0GHz, my temps were hitting 50C-53C at idle.

Right now the rig is out of commission till I decide on either getting another HSF or I may do watercooling. But I'll be getting a new processor, either a Q6600, an E7200, an E8400.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes