Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2008, 08:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 105
Default How to Maintain a stable Crucial Ballisitix PC2 8500 double sided Overclock

I have a 2X1 GB double sided Crucial Ballistix. I'm able to push it over 1200mhz and pass the memtest at 2.2 V. However, in windows, it fails the Prime95 torture test. Any ideas why this might be so? My rig is a Q9300 with P5K Deluxe.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2008, 08:47 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Do you have memory timings set? If so try loosening the timings. You may need to increase the vcore to 2.3
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 03:22 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Probably going to require higher Vdimm, and that's going to need cooling, and it might also fry your sticks.

I've never had my ballistix running stable much higher than 1100 with 2.2V.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 09:32 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BALISTX View Post
Do you have memory timings set? If so try loosening the timings. You may need to increase the vcore to 2.3
Yeah, some tweaking with Memset can really help.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 10:29 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

If you plan on upping the vdimm then like Steve said you will need proper cooling. There is a couple of options you can do.

There is the Antec SpotCool - $19.43 @ NCIX and the Corsair Dominator Airflow Memory Cooler - $27.44 @ NCIX
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 11:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 105
Default

So, the highest voltage without cooling is 2.2V? I think I'll just try to loosen timings. There is this Transaction booster funcion in my bios. I can leave it auto, disable with options from 0 to 3 for compatibility, or enable. Anyone familiar with this?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 11:59 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I have played with three sets of ballistix in the last year and have had little luck getting them to run over stock speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 04:41 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

When you say "passed memtest", how many runs did it pass? Leave it running overnight for preference, get yourself a dozen passes to be certain. That aside, I don't believe memtest fully stresses the memory controller, as opposed to a program like Prime.

Are you certain that your FSB is stable? Are you certain that your CPU speed is stable? Either of those can cause Prime to fail, but you'll have to use a process of elimination in order to determine which one.

To the best of my knowledge, Asus' transaction booster is a fancy name for adjusting the memory controller's tRD timings. If you're determined to run beyond the memory's rated speed, you should probably just disable the transaction booster, and pull it down a level or two. It'll cost you memory bandwidth, but it might just make the difference. Later on, once you've got a stable OC, you can try notching it up slightly to regain as much bandwidth as you can.

Personally, I suspect that any memory speed gains you see by using the relaxed transaction booster settings will be negated by the looser MCH timings. And since you're running a quad-core, you'll run out of FSB headroom before you run out of memory speed.

And DDR2-1200? That's fast. If you don't plan on aiming a fan at those modules, you should probably slow things down a little.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes