Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2015, 06:57 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 512
Default FX8350 ?

Soooo, I bumped it up to 4.5ghz with all the cool n quiet/c1e/turbo off using 1.35v it's been stable.

I tried just a little extra bump up to 4.6ghz but I got a freeze (program not responding) in dying light idling in the menu while on the phone.

I'm kind of torn between leaving it alone or jacking up volts to get an even 4.6ghz out of it, is there a definitive answer as far as the volt cap on these cpus ? I guess 100mhz makes no real difference but I was just looking for an opinion if it's a reasonable overclock at its' current voltage?
__________________
Gaming FX 8350 / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Daily Use x4 965BE 3.8GHZ/GA-790x/HD6870/EA750w/8GB ram/Win 7 64 and a whole bunch o hdds
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2015, 06:50 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 639

My System Specs

Default

Anything under 1.50v vcore is considered safe as long as your cooling is sufficient. Every CPU has different limits though, so it will have to be your decision whether 4.6 is important enough depending on how high you have to jack up the voltage to get there.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2015, 07:10 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 3,545

My System Specs

Default

If the temps are as per you signature, then you will have no issues with putting some more voltage to get higher.
EDIT...forgot to say that from what I have read 1.55 is technically the max, but most people say keep it at max 1.5v. Generally people say <1.4v should get you 4.6.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb

Last edited by Bond007; May 7, 2015 at 07:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2015, 09:10 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 512
Default

I settled for 4.6ghz 1.375v it's stable in gaming but I still have to test through Prime 95. My modem took a dive yesterday so I couldn't dl the latest P95 285 I tried an old ver 258 that I had but no matter what clocks or volts it had it would just freeze as soon as I hit start. Is the new prime 95 64bit compatible with fx8350s?

Well, the new P95 was a big fail too worker threads stop working so I bump volts then p95 just freezes.
__________________
Gaming FX 8350 / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Daily Use x4 965BE 3.8GHZ/GA-790x/HD6870/EA750w/8GB ram/Win 7 64 and a whole bunch o hdds

Last edited by upcoast604; May 8, 2015 at 09:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
990FX Saber + FX8350 poroporo Price Check 1 June 9, 2014 05:20 PM
fx8350 voltage purestone CPU's and Motherboards 0 December 2, 2013 03:38 PM
Interesting video FX8350 vs 3570K, 3770K, 3820 LegendMask CPU's and Motherboards 13 April 22, 2013 11:28 AM
FX8350 990FXA-UD3 pcmike Troubleshooting 10 March 30, 2013 04:46 PM