Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2015, 08:46 PM
Unxetas's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Burnaby BC
Posts: 46

My System Specs

Default noob CPUID package temperature question

Just finished installing an h100i cooler on my FX-8320 cpu and thought I'd check temps before doing much else. If I understand this right, TMPIN0 and TMPIN1 are the MB sensors at the socket, the "package" temp is the core temperature.

Then how the heck are my idle package/core temps averaging 9-10C when the room is at around 15C? Either something is off or I performed the best thermal paste installation ever..

The package temps to rise to 17-20C pretty regularly even while just typing stuff here on the forum, but I'm a bit worried I can't trust the temp readings on this thing. Max temps after a couple runs of Cinebench are 36C... Any ideas?

I'm running at 4.2GHz @ stock vcore.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2015, 09:12 PM
Unxetas's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Burnaby BC
Posts: 46

My System Specs

Default

currently running prime95's blend test.. After a few minutes, package temps are at 32C. Coretemp agrees with HWMonitor, same as Corsair Link's reported CPU temps. Seems awfully low..? The motherboard is reporting socket temps of 46C.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2015, 10:12 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 77

My System Specs

Default

From what ive read online is that with these FX chips the temperature monitor is all out of wack until you hit around 35 or 40 degress C. From that point on the temperature is accurate. I have the fx9590 and same thing, as of right now it says its idling at 16 degrees when its well over 20 in my room. Once I game for a while the temps will be anywhere from 45-55 degrees, and the socket temp for me is always 10-15 degrees higher than the core temp.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2015, 06:13 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,485

My System Specs

Default

cpuz HWM isn't a 100% accurate with AMD stuff. One of our low power AMD setups shows -10 at times.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2015, 02:24 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,517
Default

check MB site for your bios updates for any temp correction in update
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temperature Question Gregole Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 February 25, 2014 07:30 PM
Temperature question ( which temperature do I go by? Shadowmeph Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 August 19, 2011 01:00 PM
[Question] Temperature gaha885 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 November 12, 2010 10:29 AM
Core i7 temperature question xXxRithxXx CPU's and Motherboards 19 June 25, 2009 02:44 PM
CPUID Hardware Monitor - temps question somecanadianguy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 June 16, 2009 05:11 PM