Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2014, 06:24 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default Opteron 165 Fun with relics

I always had fun overclocking S939, decided to start buying whatever I can find 939 and DDR too. Amazing how much sturdier DDR is that stuff almost never dies. I even tracked down a pair of OCZ VX PC4000 512MB sticks, if I can get an OCZ DDR booster I could really go for it.

So far it's running 3.05GHz @ around 67C full load using a Zalman CPMS9000. I really need better cooling, it's hard to find now. Gonna de-lid and water cool it ASAP.

I'll post up some pics in a few days.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2014, 06:55 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,519

My System Specs

Default

That's essentially the same chip as the 3700 isn't it? If so, you've already passed the DFI-Street 3G club requirements. The DDR sticks are probably a big part of that.... been a while since we had a platform that could be held back by lower clocked mem.

Cut my OC teeth on S939. Spent many a night tweaking one or two mem settings and then benching to see if it was an improvement or not. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2014, 07:03 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,091

My System Specs

Default

I have some DDR3 In 6-7-6 6GB 1600. drop then into a system to push fore CPU overclocks. Fast tight memory makes a big difference on my Intel CPU also.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2014, 07:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,519

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
I have some DDR3 In 6-7-6 6GB 1600. drop then into a system to push fore CPU overclocks. Fast tight memory makes a big difference on my Intel CPU also.
For benchmarks yes, but because of unlocked processors, memory these days typically isn't going to be the limiting factor in how high you can clock your processor. Back in the PC3200 days it was fairly easy to hit a wall unless you had some memory that was willing to clock well above its rated specs.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2014, 08:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,024

My System Specs

Default

S939 with BH5 and UTT was such a great combo. I really miss those days.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2014, 10:20 AM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

I still have a opty 165 with an ASUS A8N32-SLI in use. It has been running since I built it brand new. 2.7Ghz is all I could ever manage from that chip...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2014, 11:20 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,519

My System Specs

Default

Hrmmmm... my memory isn't what it used to be... opty 165 is a dual core which makes the 3G+ achievement all the more impressive.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2014, 03:30 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Hrmmmm... my memory isn't what it used to be...
If your memory is going then you may not remember how good your memory was to begin with.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2014, 04:01 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

S939 needs really good ram to shine, especially when cranking up the HTT. Right now, I am within 5 MHz HTT of instability (mostly due to heat).

I need to get some good water gear, but not until I move to Lindsay next week.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2014, 05:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 34
Default

Wow. I actually own a 165 opty that I delidded years ago and it still works. Just a heads up, you're going to lose some torque on the cpu mount because of the missing 1/8" inch from the IHS. No biggy though as the direct contact somewhat compensates for that. You also have to uber carefull when mounting the block to avoid cracking or damaging the chip. A shim is recommended.

Don't expect much more than the 3+ ghz you currently have. Its more a memory thing. With that being said, its easy to damage the mem controller on the chip. I'm actually gonna repurpose the old girl for maybe a pf sense box. Power consumption shouldn't be too harsh. (100 watts running 24/7; Ya right)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opteron C32 Server Soullessone21 Price Check 0 March 19, 2012 12:18 PM
Opteron 146 system hdvision Price Check 2 February 12, 2012 01:09 AM
[WTB] WTB A8N SLI Board and opteron cpu tyreman Buy/Sell & Trade 0 December 29, 2008 03:08 PM
Opteron Experiment xrmarcis CPU's and Motherboards 8 September 24, 2007 12:44 PM
opteron 165 will not POST magictorch Troubleshooting 13 April 9, 2007 02:34 PM