Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 04:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: England
Posts: 16

My System Specs

Default i7-3820 First OC seem ok?

Hello everyone,

This is an overclock on my old build which was completely stable after running Prime95 (Small FFTs) for 12hours.



(Max Temperature whilst under a 100% load was 68oc)

Build:

i7-3820 - Noctua DH-14

Asus Rampage IV Extreme (now have the Black Edition)

Asus DirectCUII 7970 TOP edition (now have an R9 290X DirectCUII OC version)

Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600Mhz (4x4GB)

Corsair HX1050


I was just wondering if everything appears to be alright with this?

(All constructive criticism accepted, I need to learn more!)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 07:34 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

That temp looks pretty good for a healthy oc are you having stability issues?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2014, 03:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: England
Posts: 16

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your reply, Shadowarez!

This OC is from awhile back with my old motherboard (standard version instead of Black Edition + 7970 instead of 290X), had to send it back due to broken socket pins which I was lucky to get a refund for but it was completely stable apart from freezing/ grey screens during ARMA3 / DayZ and RAM not showing the correct amount, this was even without the CPU being OC'd though.

I was just wondering is 1.4v on core voltage too high or is there anything else I could improve/ check out regarding OCing?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2014, 04:39 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Ah once my last 2 pieces for my rig comes in I can be of more help. I'm sure the other Enthusiasts in ocing can chime in.

Lower voltage with a nice Oc is what I'm aiming for with my rig. Tossing too much vcore will shorten life of components.

I'll be trying for 4.5ghz min voltages if you have to spike voltage to keep stable I'd rather downclock till its stable. I have the Ivy-E 4960x I'll find a good balance soon as I'm done building.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2014, 04:41 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Back in day iv had my Intel cpu's running 1.46+ and they were fine. And those were the older ones not yet optimized like today's cpu's.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2014, 06:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: England
Posts: 16

My System Specs

Default

Very nice! Yeah I'm currently waiting for my 2 RMA'd pieces coming next week (mobo and gpu) and then I'll start OCing again and post some results on here.

Fair enough, I'd love a 4960x but not sure if it's worth upgrading from the 3820 just for gaming/streaming.

This is becoming a rather expensive hobby... haha. It'd be great to see what you can get out of your 4960x!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2014, 06:54 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Once my swiftech H320 with 6 noctua 120 fans in ill push the cpu. I'm upgrading from a Acer M3970 lol my last rig was a Intel q6600 oced to 3.5 Ghz.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2014, 04:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: England
Posts: 16

My System Specs

Default

Pretty big upgrade then!

Noctua are the best fans I've found so far, just need to learn more about air flow.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2014, 05:03 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Iv done alot of Sims in 3D Studio Max lol for fun. Yeah this thing will last me awhile. Considering the cpu alone cost 4x the whole computer I'm using now Inc 16gb ram upgrade and gpu upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2014, 05:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: England
Posts: 16

My System Specs

Default

I'd have no idea where to start with that, I'm just a hardcore ARMA/DayZ fan with the occasional MOBA/MMORPG haha.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] i7 3820 Inik Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 3, 2013 06:46 AM
[WTB] Looking for I7 3820/I7 3930K Justin Cider Buy/Sell & Trade 3 January 22, 2013 10:02 AM
i7 3820 or i7 3930k for 680 gtx Sli? jaredimre CPU's and Motherboards 16 December 16, 2012 08:08 PM
i7 3820 Behemoth Price Check 1 June 26, 2012 04:00 AM