Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 07:11 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Question Old school OCZ Platinum OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K suggested settings

For my old computer to get some interesting overclock and also (mainly) more memory I got a 2G of these DDR (1) OCZ Platinum 2-3-2-5 sticks labeled as OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K.


(image only illustrational from eBay, not mine, no idea why one of these sticks have v1 and other v2 anyway)

So these should have the nice Samsung TCCD chips, so I was trying to power the machine on with 229MHz (250 FSB/183 divider that gives 229MHz on the rams) 2.5-3-3-7 settings and it - failed :eek:

WTF!

So I reset the bios and started going step-by-step. 200MHz divider (so, 1:1 to FSB) and I see the default settings are TCL - 2, TRCD - 3, TRP - 2, TRAS - 5, TRRD - 2, TRC - 11, TRFC - 24, TRWT - 3, Read Preamble 5.5ns and Async latency 7nS. Since I did not plan on getting FSB over 280, then these two last settings I leaved untouched.

However I do relax the timings to TCL - 2.5, TRCD - 3, TRP - 3, TRAS - 7, TRRD - 3, TRC - 11, TRFC - 24, TRWT - 3 and tried at witch clock the memory fail to post/run Memtest with voltage at auto to the rams.
220 was fine, 225 too, 230 no post. Backed down to 227MHz and that seems to work.
Then I relaxed the timings even more to TCL - 2.5, TRCD - 4, TRP - 3, TRAS - 7, TRRD - 3, TRC - 14, TRFC - 24, TRWT - 4 and tried the 230MHz clock and again it failed... :(

Previous lame Kingston 2x 512MB sticks can do 229MHz at these settings... :(

So I set the divider 183 and started raising the FSB while I know, that the CPU can do about 2850MHz with 1.425Vcore (and x11 multi), so up to about 255-260MHz I'm fine.

This went this way - I went back to these settings: TCL - 2.5, TRCD - 3, TRP - 3, TRAS - 7, TRRD - 3, TRC - 11, TRFC - 24, TRWT - 3 ... and started pushing - 235MHz FSB gives 198MHz, that was fine. 240 gives 203MHz on the rams and also it seems to be fine in DOS/Memtest. 245 gives 207MHz and it also looks fine... but 250 (as I run before) failed to post. So I set 248 with gives 209MHz on the rams and that worked well, but on WinXP boot it give BSOD. Damn. So backed down to 246 and that boot WinXP, but then it fail on BSOD :(
WTF... I changed the voltage from auto (IIRC 2.5V it should be) to 2.70V and... reboot instead of BSOD. So voltage are no-no, therefore I tried voltage back at auto + 245MHz FSB and that somewhat works, but very unstable.

So I had to back down the divider to 166, so I get 250 - 196.4MHz for the rams. Then 255MHz FSB gives out 200.4MHz on the rams, so I set back their tightest default settings, as at 200MHz, there is really no need to relax timings at all.
That gives 2805MHz for the Opty 148 using Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Radeon Xpress 3200)...

But I'm somewhat disapointed. I used to run OCZ P4001G rams (also 2x 1G) at 231MHz with 2.5-3-3-7 settings at 2.64V ...

So, what I doing wrong? At 1:1 divider these rams managed to 227MHz, witch is under the 231 wanted, but at least they can be overclocked somewhat. Now when I push the divider, then even very slight overclock (209MHz) is impossible. WTF! Old OCZ P4001G rams run their tightest 2-3-2-7 settings up to 216MHz.

Do I need to play a bit with the skew or relaxing the drive in order to get higher? I refuse to believe that I cannot get these rams clock faster. So I asking for suggestions. That was just my first quick attempt to get the machine working by quick & dirty way :)
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config

Last edited by trodas; January 20, 2014 at 07:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 12:44 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

I found with these sticks back in the day ran a lot better @ stock speeds with really tight timings. Up the voltage accordingly.

Try 300fsb x 8.5 with the ram running @ 266mhz bus speeds. Don't remember the voltages offhand, but in the cpu you don't want to go over 1.475 I believe, and 2.9v max on the memory.

It might be a bit off since its been a very very long time since ive played with one of those opterons. If you can get 3ghz out if it you're rocking. Usually they topped out around 2.8ghz.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 02:15 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

Also I don't believe those are TCCD sticks, as far as I remember TCCD was never made in sticks greater than 512MB. Also TCCD timings at PC3200 are 2-2-2-5, a 2-3-2-5 timing reminds me more of the Winbond chips that came after the legendary BH-5. TCCD should be good up to 225 or so at stock volts. I've never really found good 1GB DDR overclocking sticks. Like Fudd says, you should be fine all the way up to 2.9v, try that and see if they get any better.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 02:50 PM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Wink

Fudd Rucker -
Quote:
I found with these sticks back in the day ran a lot better @ stock speeds with really tight timings. Up the voltage accordingly.
Yes, they run nicely stable at 200MHz with 2-3-2-7 settings, 2.50V only, lol. However that is a bit slower that I would like. I would like them to run at 229MHz, maybe more if they can...

Quote:
Try 300fsb x 8.5 with the ram running @ 266mhz bus speeds.
What the... I never tried so extreme FSB speeds, lol. 266MHz on ram? Never seen my whole life in action anything like that... However yes, one user (Mr. Scott) on HWbot forum claim, that these sticks should have a Infineon BE chips in them. Are they any good?
At 2.85V it is suggested that the ones this guy have run at 266MHz SuperPi stable:
http://hwbot.org/image/1093595.jpg

Oh, damn. On OCZ forum they told me, that only the Rev 2 of these 1Gby sticks OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K have the Samsung TCCD chips :( These did not even have the revision on the sticker - there is the image from eBay seller, these are the rams in question:

OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K

So now I wonder, if these Infineon BE chips are any good and if they can tolerate 2.85V safely.

...

Quote:
Don't remember the voltages offhand, but in the cpu you don't want to go over 1.475 I believe, and 2.9v max on the memory.
Mine need 1.425Vcore to run at around 2.8GHz stable w/o a problem. However under watercooling and in the Sapphire A9RX480 mobo it did 3GHz: CPU-Z Validator 3.1
(not remember the Vcore and the old CPU-Z did not show it this time)

Quote:
It might be a bit off since its been a very very long time since ive played with one of those opterons. If you can get 3ghz out if it you're rocking. Usually they topped out around 2.8ghz.
Indeed, that is my experience as well. But now I'm after the memory speed :)


Rasparthe -
Quote:
Also I don't believe those are TCCD sticks
That seemd to be confirmed. Any confirmation on the Infineon BE chips and what voltage they could take would be interesting. In bios I top at 3V and in the Sapphire A9RX480 it top out at 4.4V, but both values are too insane for me...

Quote:
as far as I remember TCCD was never made in sticks greater than 512MB
OCZ support say that the 1GBy OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K sticks are made with TCCD...

Quote:
Also TCCD timings at PC3200 are 2-2-2-5, a 2-3-2-5 timing reminds me more of the Winbond chips that came after the legendary BH-5.
Good thinking...! Yes, one again you are right.

Quote:
TCCD should be good up to 225 or so at stock volts.
...witch is why I was after them...

Quote:
I've never really found good 1GB DDR overclocking sticks. Like Fudd says, you should be fine all the way up to 2.9v, try that and see if they get any better.
I did not want miracled or broke any records. Just stable 24/4 usage at decent speeds. Like mine OCZP4001G sticks that can do 2.5-3-3-7 at 231MHz. Fine with me, if they can do just that... And if evarything fail, then I push these OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K into my P4 machine, where is no overclocking hapenning and use these OCZP4001G sticks instead. But as long, as I have them in the mobo, I would like to know, if I can overclock them :)
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2014, 03:12 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Default

Hmmm, so I tried another simple test - 2.85V to the dimms and then a little bit relaxed timings TCL - 2.5, TRCD - 3, TRP - 3, TRAS - 7, TRRD - 3, TRC - 11, TRFC - 24, TRWT - 3 and where I could get.
210 - fine, 215 - fine, 220 - fine, 225 - tough memtest works, it BSOD when booting to win. Tried push voltage to 2.90V and still BSOD.

So I quess that to reach 225MHz (much less stable 230) I need to relax timings more, 2.5-3-3-7 did not seems to do the job even with very high voltage. What timings to relax, that did not have so big impact on memory speed...?

Also I tested how far one can go with the default 2-3-2 timings and stock 2.50V. Now very far. 205 seems to be stable, but at just 210 it started reporting bios corruption and so on... so somewhere between 205 and 210 is the limit of the current timings with no bumped up voltage. That is not much headroom, as my OCZP4001G sticks 2x1G do 216MHz at 2-3-2 timings (2.60V tough, might be worth to try with 2.60V these ones too) ...
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kingston Technology 2x 512MB DDR1 suggested timings trodas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 February 25, 2014 12:58 PM
LinusTechTips Review of XFX 1000W 80Plus Platinum - XFX Don't have any Platinum PSUs RikuoAmero Power Supplies 1 December 17, 2011 06:38 AM
Suggested Games for an Old Man bonanza2000 Gaming 33 October 15, 2010 01:32 AM
GPU for the old school FiveNines Video Cards 11 April 27, 2009 06:23 PM
Suggested loops and Pump silverchair Water Cooling 6 February 23, 2008 09:17 AM