Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2013, 11:13 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default can to much ram cause issues with a Oc?

I'm planning on getting either 64Gb of Dominator Platinum ram or 32 I see alot if ppl sticking with 8 to 16 Gb of ram. Would this hinder a decent Over Clock on a Rive BE with a 4960X cpu.

The last time I OCed a comp was when you had to up the Fsb then raise voltage till it was stable so not skilled in ways if New generation of overclocking Intel cpus.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 03:21 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,032

My System Specs

Default

Its more a matter of what the system is designed to do.

Adobe aftereffects and Photo shop love lots off RAM.

On that Board you can set up RAM cashing fore computing also.

If your just going to game then you need less RAM.

Make sure to use 64 Bit OS like Windiows 7 Ultamate 64 bit or server OS. Only a 64 bit OS will adress that much RAM .

Now back to your ? If you were overclocking sometimes less RAM better sometimes more is better is depends on witch bench mark your trying to beet.

Faster Ram is better all the time.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 03:53 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

More RAM can indeed hinder your OC. The memory controller is onboard of the processor itself (usually referred to as the IMC) and also tied to many of the clocks the processor is subject to. The more RAM you add the more it strains your IMC, the faster you set the frequency the more it strains your IMC, adding more of one or the other can cause instability. You may find that you can overclock 8 GB of your RAM to higher speeds then you can get 32GB to run stable. It mostly depends on the strength of your IMC and they can vary widely.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 03:54 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

Ok well I'm trying for at least a 4.5ghz oc on cpu. I'll be doing alot video editing and Adobe work as well as gaming when I get chance atm I have 3D studio max Maya and Photoshop set for New rig I also want to be able to recode my Blue-Ray Collection to mkv format fir my nas.

I wanted 64gigs so I could setup a decent sized
Ramdisk for certain projects. Just wasn't sure if having all slots filled would still give me Quad Channel support. And be capable of pushing a decent overclock
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 03:57 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

I figured with a $1100 cpu it'd be strong enough but I can understand sone silicon is stronger then others and. Usually ends being luck if draw if you can populate all ram slots and still oc.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 04:50 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,032

My System Specs

Default

Linus Video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PhkJ...E6Xw-yeJA0Tunw

Is this what your trying fore ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 08:21 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasparthe View Post
More RAM can indeed hinder your OC. The memory controller is onboard of the processor itself (usually referred to as the IMC) and also tied to many of the clocks the processor is subject to. The more RAM you add the more it strains your IMC, the faster you set the frequency the more it strains your IMC, adding more of one or the other can cause instability. You may find that you can overclock 8 GB of your RAM to higher speeds then you can get 32GB to run stable. It mostly depends on the strength of your IMC and they can vary widely.
This.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 08:00 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

Yeah just want to be able to do this if I can. Plus I would love to have power on hand incase.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 08:13 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

I have 32GB of that Dominator Platinum on my machine along with a OC of 4.8GHz. That said I have when playing with it found that I can not get up to the 5.1-5.2 range without removing at least half of the ram. Needless to say I don't run at those speeds for anything other than benching so I'm fine with it being stable at 4.8GHz with all 32GB. So as others have said yes it can affect your OC.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 08:43 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

Ok well all I really want is 4.5 ghz stable and I'll be fine with that just wanted to make sure not to drop over $1100 on ram if it'd hinder my Overclock severely.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
more SC2 issues... bostonkikiki Gaming 3 April 7, 2013 01:34 PM
GTX 670 Issues powerbench Video Cards 6 July 9, 2012 04:30 PM
SSD and HDD issues lightninstrikr Troubleshooting 11 January 5, 2012 04:48 PM
Corsair Issues Warning of Possible H100 Fan Controller Issues SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 8 October 1, 2011 03:03 PM
MAG (I'm having mic issues with my BT set) Cadence Gaming 0 January 28, 2010 06:14 PM