Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2013, 07:03 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,183

My System Specs

Default Over-clocking MULTIPLE i7-4820k

Well, this has been fun so far, but now I'm getting into the tedious as I go from seeing max speeds to the best 24/7 chip and lowest voltage overclock.


Will be playing around with some 4820k, also, I'll be selling the extras used once I finish playing with them.

Edit (testing that passed at 10x intel burn test "High"):

Testing done on a Rampage IV Gene 8GB 1600 DDR3, corsair H100 @ max fan speed. vcore NOT set above 1.4v in BIOS (will measure offset with multi-meter when possible to get actual voltages).

CPU 1: 4.75 Ghz @ 1.395 vcore & 75% LLC

CPU 2: 4.75 Ghz @ 1.320 vcore & 75% LLC
------ 4.85 Ghz @ 1.400 vcore & 75% LLC
boots @ 4.9 (not tested above this as unstable)

CPU 3: 4.75 Ghz @ 1.395 vcore & 75% LLC
boots @ 4.85 Ghz (4.9 @ 1.4v did not boot)

CPU 4: 4.75 Ghz @ 1.380 vcore & 75% LLC
boots @ 4.85 Ghz (4.9 @ 1.4v did not boot)

CPU 5: 4.75 Ghz @ 1.315 vcore & 75% LLC
------ 4.80 Ghz @ 1.36 vcore & 75% LLC
boots @ 4.9 Ghz (not tested above as blue scren)

For those who are interested on the general process I used:

Prepare the ram: Run your memory at or below it's rated speed or timings to ensure your memory is not messing up your CPU over-clock. If you have high grade ram (i.e. 2333 Mhz), run at a much lower speed that your motherboard natively supports. You don't want to down-clock it too much that it doesn't put any stress on your CPU, but you don't want going for a crazy memory speed to interfere with your CPU testing at this stage.

TEST all the components to ensure they aren't defective! If your memory, GPU, etc is defective you might be missing out on the potential of your CPU without realizing it!

1) set the max voltage I'm willing to test on (1.40vcore + the jump from using LLC @ 75%)
2) Set a frequency that is at the upper end, but possible (4.8 Ghz) and try to boot
3) reduce the frequency until it boots
3b) keep reducing frequency until it passes stress testing
3c) increase the frequency if it passes stress testing first try
4) reduce the vcore to find the lowest stable vcore with stress testing.

This alows me to quickly find a close approximation of what the CPU is capable of as the higher the frequency the better it should over-clock.

Now, for fine-tuning to pick a 24/7 chip I found that just running benchmarks between two chips at the same settings yielding fairly poor comparison and the max stable frequency/boot frequency has more impact.

1) Pick a frequency you're aiming for @ 24/7 (I picked 4.7 Ghz)
2) Test your best CPU(s) (if more than one is close) at the frequencyc by lowering the voltage between tests, to find which CPU can operate at a lower voltage (I used a step of 0.02v)
3) If your voltage is higher than you want (or temperatures, etc), test with a lower frequency (i.e. 4.65) again.
4) re-enable any power saving features you wish to use (and voltage offset if you'd rather use than instead of constant voltage, saves life) and test for stability on the "winning chip."
5) increase vcore slightly as required.

Note, there are some other settings that will impact your over-clock that I have not gone over.

Last edited by draemn; November 27, 2013 at 10:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 05:09 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,183

My System Specs

Default

Anyone want to lend me a monitor for 2-3 days if nothing else? I don't feel like bringing a monitor on the airplane!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2013, 08:44 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

I would if I had the time but work is killin me atm. Good luck :)
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2013, 06:13 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,183

My System Specs

Default

Any suggestions on the IVB-E if there is anything I can do to squeeze that last inch of stability out without a vcore increase? I have two memory sticks operating at 1600 Mhz 10-10-10-26 when their rated timings are 9-9-9-24 to remove the memory being a problem (but maybe it would benefit to run at 1300?) and a GTX 570 sitting at stock values. I can get 7 passes of burn test High @ 4.85 Ghz and 4 passes at 4.9 Ghz....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2013, 11:54 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,183

My System Specs

Default

24/7 I'm aiming to do 4.7 Ghz under 1.30 vcore @ 50% LLC. Anyone think I should dial it back a little more?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2013, 12:37 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,798

My System Specs

Default

1.3V is nothing IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2013, 12:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,183

My System Specs

Default

I don't think 1.3v is a stretch either, but this is my first experience with 22nm design. Best to get a 2nd option

Ugh! Why is offset mode so weird?!!?!? My BIOS said it was running at 1.1v default, so I added +0.13 offset and it runs at 1.33v under load. Good thing I didn't set +0.2v offset!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2013, 03:36 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,792

My System Specs

Default

With offset mode best to forget about everything that makes sense, once setting the offset just note:
1. vCore at idle
2. vCore desktop no load (but at OC speed)
3. vCore under load

Now you know what voltages are at a specific offset, so just experiment with offset / testing OC's + or - offset in .005v increments ;)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2013, 05:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,183

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I just did a guess and check by setting an offset value and then seeing what it was under full load in the OS and adjusting accordingly.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2013, 05:52 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,035

My System Specs

Default

I agree about offset. Ever since I got this 4770k, I have been confused with it and still haven't gotten the hang of it.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to Over-clocking/need advice Rikan S-087 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 May 9, 2011 03:30 PM
My 480 isn't down clocking bvsbutthd101 Video Cards 14 July 10, 2010 03:42 PM
Over clocking my CPU kendallcschm Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 20 November 9, 2009 11:53 PM
4870 1GB clocking cadaveca Video Cards 21 February 17, 2009 02:03 PM
Over Clocking Ram mattydies Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 January 19, 2008 02:59 PM