Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 07:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default How do you run the RAM with a divider to get the mem BW up?

How do you run the RAM with a divider to get the mem BW up?

CPU voltage = 1.3375
FSB voltage = 1.250
MCH/ICH voltage = 1.525
Memory voltage = 1.84; 4-4-4-12 Non-ECC
Processor X = 12
Host Clock Freq. = 275
PCI Bus Freq.= 33.33 MHz PCI Latency = 32
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 11:16 AM
Deathspawner's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 204
Default

I personally wouldn't worry about the divider too much. As you increase the FSB, it will automatically change the divider for you. If you want to get a tighter divider, you'd have to haul out a calculator to do the math.

IE: If you set the Mem to 1000 and FSB to 1066, it would be 8:15, or 1066 Mem and 1066 FSB would be 1:2.

I am not sure the real world differences of finding a tighter divider though... I haven't personally seen any.
__________________
Techgage.com | Editor in Chief

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.20GHz, ASUS P5K Premium WiFi-AP, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, EVGA GTX 285 1024MB
Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Pioneer 22x ODD, Corsair 1000HX, Thermalright Ultra-120, CM Storm Sniper
Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Ultrasone PRO 750, Gentoo Linux (KDE 4.4, 2.6.32 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter

Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 12:27 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,515

My System Specs

Default

The extra bandwidth you may gain will help little in real life applications. If you need the lowest Super PI score, then raise your divider. 1:1 is best for stability and all around use IMO.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 04:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
The extra bandwidth you may gain will help little in real life applications. If you need the lowest Super PI score, then raise your divider. 1:1 is best for stability and all around use IMO.
To raise my divider 1:1, Should I lower my Mem clock?

...and what is IMO?

The ratio is calculated: FSB (266.5) / Mem frequency (333.5) = something close to 4/5. If I bring down the memory frequency to 266.5MHz, I should get a little bit more BW for a lower memory clock...and maybe let heat.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz

Last edited by francois methot; March 18, 2007 at 04:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 06:12 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,515

My System Specs

Default

If you set it to run 1:1, your memory would be clocked @ the FSB speed, so you would be able to OC the CPU and memory at the same frequencies and it should allow you more overclocking headroom than having the memory run faster than the CPU, especially with PC2 5300 memory.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 06:28 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois methot View Post
To raise my divider 1:1, Should I lower my Mem clock?

...and what is IMO?
In My Opinion
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2007, 09:30 AM
Deathspawner's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
If you set it to run 1:1, your memory would be clocked @ the FSB speed, so you would be able to OC the CPU and memory at the same frequencies and it should allow you more overclocking headroom than having the memory run faster than the CPU, especially with PC2 5300 memory.
I agree with you, but I am not sure that's exactly how it works nowadays. Back in the DDR1 days, you could run your CPU at 250HTT and 250MHz memory speed, which was true 1:1. Nowdays... it's a tad different.

FSB 1066 = 266FSB * 4
DDR2-1066 = 533MHz

266FSB : 533MHz = 1:2

I admit I am not fully sure how things work... I haven't done indepth enough testing. To get a true 1:1 though... you'd have to lower the FSB below stock (IE 400FSB, DDR2-800).
__________________
Techgage.com | Editor in Chief

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.20GHz, ASUS P5K Premium WiFi-AP, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, EVGA GTX 285 1024MB
Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Pioneer 22x ODD, Corsair 1000HX, Thermalright Ultra-120, CM Storm Sniper
Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Ultrasone PRO 750, Gentoo Linux (KDE 4.4, 2.6.32 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter

Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2007, 10:16 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,515

My System Specs

Default

I set my memory to run 1:1 with the FSB. Right now, I have my FSB @ 400 so my CPU is at 2.8GHz (400X7) and my ram is @ 400MHz (DDR2 800 is 400MHz x2). It is the sweet spot for my hardware that allows a nice OC with minimum voltages and I run EIST and all that other power saving jazz without a hiccup. Ram ratios are based on FSB : Ram Speeds. All the quad pumping and ram speed doubling is after the fact. CPUZ reports my CPU : RAM as 1 : 1 when running like this.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2007, 11:30 AM
Deathspawner's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
I set my memory to run 1:1 with the FSB. Right now, I have my FSB @ 400 so my CPU is at 2.8GHz (400X7) and my ram is @ 400MHz (DDR2 800 is 400MHz x2). It is the sweet spot for my hardware that allows a nice OC with minimum voltages and I run EIST and all that other power saving jazz without a hiccup. Ram ratios are based on FSB : Ram Speeds. All the quad pumping and ram speed doubling is after the fact. CPUZ reports my CPU : RAM as 1 : 1 when running like this.
That's the same example I gave. Sometime if you are ever in Everest, let me know what the latency is at those settings. I am not sure the board I am using can hit 400FSB...

__________________
Techgage.com | Editor in Chief

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.20GHz, ASUS P5K Premium WiFi-AP, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, EVGA GTX 285 1024MB
Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Pioneer 22x ODD, Corsair 1000HX, Thermalright Ultra-120, CM Storm Sniper
Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Ultrasone PRO 750, Gentoo Linux (KDE 4.4, 2.6.32 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter

Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes