Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2013, 12:18 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,731
Default Problems OC'ing i7 920 D0

So a friend of mine is staying with me for a while and has brought his PC with him. He's asked me to give him a hand OC'ing his D0 920. I figured that it should be a breeze given all the hype around this chip. However, I'm running in to a lot of problems with it. I can't even get the chip to boot at 3.66, and even a relatively modest OC to 3.5, jacking the vCORE all the way up to 1.5 (which I would not do permanently by any means) results in constant core failures in Prime95. (Half the cores stop after a few seconds, while the rest carry on running.) Running Prime95 on stock is completely stable though, so I don't think it's faulty cores.

My experience with the 1366 series is extremely limited, and this is getting under my skin. I know it could just be a bad chip or board, but maybe someone has suggestions?

Gigabyte x58a-ud5
Hyper 212 EVO (Stock clock = 65c under load. Seems high to me for stock?)
Core i7 920 D0
12GB Corsair XM3 1333 1.5v
Cooler Master 650W PSU
Case is well cooled. 3x120mm and 1x140mm (plus the CPU cooler) cycling air quite well.

I've played with several configurations in the BIOS for OC, but mostly I've been leaving the multi at 20 and adjusting the base clock up. Then I jacked the vCORE until I could get it to boot. Oddly though, even the slightest of OC's requires huge increases in vCORE just to boot in to Windows.

*EDIT* - Before anyone asks; yes I keep the RAM clocks at or under rated speeds.

Need some experienced advice here please. Understand I'm not at all new to OC'ing, but this chipset is a new area for me.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2013, 12:32 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Did you try it in dual channel as opposed to tri? I'm really thinking it's the memory......

edit: I'm also thinking that an OC'd / overvolted 1366 system might be a bit much for a PSU that's probably only good for around 500W clean power at best.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; June 23, 2013 at 12:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2013, 01:01 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Did you try it in dual channel as opposed to tri? I'm really thinking it's the memory......

edit: I'm also thinking that an OC'd / overvolted 1366 system might be a bit much for a PSU that's probably only good for around 500W clean power at best.
I've never converted a triple channel system to dual. Is it as simple as running 2 sticks? Or do I need to change something in the BIOS? On a side note, mem tests come up clean.

I considered this power issue, but it's also only running a single 6850 as a GPU. Although it does have an SSD and 2 HDD's.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2013, 01:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,237

My System Specs

Default

For successful overclocking there are many problems you can run into:

1) Can your components handle it? (motherboard, PSU, memory, etc). The UD5 is an excellent overclocking board if yours is working properly. the D0 chip should overclock quite well if it hasn't sustained any damage from previous voltage increases (if any). Is your memory happy to run at 1.65v for overclocking? I bought a single rail beefy PSU so I don't have to think about rails, etc.
2) How much voltage/ratio tweaking do you need to do for the graphics card (i.e. IOH core) and memory to be stable?
3) Too much vcore can make an overclock not work. QPI/VTT voltage is very important too.
4) certain power saving settings or special CPU functions and interfere with an overclock.

WAAAAY back when I was doing regular overclocking and tweaking with my board (now it's stable, so no need to push it) I was trying to keep my progress updated: Starting the i7-930 GA-X58A-UD5 o/c - Rampant Speculation Forums

Have a read. It will be a start.

Last edited by draemn; June 23, 2013 at 02:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2013, 02:01 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
I've never converted a triple channel system to dual. Is it as simple as running 2 sticks? Or do I need to change something in the BIOS? On a side note, mem tests come up clean.

I considered this power issue, but it's also only running a single 6850 as a GPU. Although it does have an SSD and 2 HDD's.
Yes, shouldn't be anything required in bios.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2013, 04:52 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

Try these:

V core: 1.275
DRAM V: 1.66
QPI: 1.3375
PLL: 1.88
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2013, 04:56 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

BLCK 200

changed the memory voltage to 1.66 or 1.67

QPI Clock Ratio 36

Uncore Clock Ratio 18

LLC i put it on regular to meet intel standard whatever

CPU V core to 1.3375

QPI/VTT Voltage 1.275

CPU PLL to 1.88
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2013, 09:36 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,731
Default

Thanks everyone for chiming in on this. I was wracking my brain for quite a while, and then I decided to physically inspect the chip. This is what led me to discover that one screw on the heatsink was extremely loose and there was very bad contact. I ALSO discovered that he didn't use enough thermal paste. This was an obvious red flag to me, however I am curious how the temps didn't soar over 100 in our attempts? I can only assume that the cores that were shutting down immediately were doing so because of the heat and didn't get a chance to register?

Regardless, I took the heatsink off, cleaned everything, reapplied paste and reinstalled the heatsink. Now I've got the system running 3.8 stable with no issues so far, and I'm thinking that may be where we decide to leave it since this processor has taken enough heat abuse in it's life.

Thanks again for all the help.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2013, 09:40 AM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 327
Default

You need to match certain settings on 1366 when overclocking

I'd change my dram bus voltage to 1.55 or what ever is closest up to 1.65 if needed.

You will be overclocking with bclk

Voltage of no higher than 1.35 should be necessary to even hit 4.0ghz typically and thus going past that for clocks as low as 3.5 means something else is wrong here. it can even cause heat fails on the cpu earlier with more voltage after a point i would back my voltage down to 1.3 for now and work from there until it gives 101 error in prime.

For pll try anywhere from 1.8 to 1.96v stability may vary.

Depending on bios your qpi/deram voltage or uncore/memory controller voltage is usually good at 1.35v - the big thing here is keeping it at least 0.5v difference from your dram voltage.

other than that only thing else i can think of off the top of my head is uncore frequency make sure its double your ram frequency.

cant think of anything else that was important but its been a little bit since i oc'd mine.
__________________
My 5 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.8GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.5 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
GPU's ("xfire"2x XFX290X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pc on tv problems. kyle_L Troubleshooting 3 December 4, 2010 08:37 PM
mic problems Samael Audio 12 March 18, 2009 01:44 AM
Help Please (2 problems) AnthraxAdrian Troubleshooting 20 April 27, 2008 12:34 PM
having problems slisgrinder Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 April 14, 2008 07:47 PM
Big Problems Feff Troubleshooting 9 January 23, 2008 04:24 PM