Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2013, 03:22 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
What is that dummy oc thing on your bios settings? Have you tried enabling it?
I have played with the dummy overclock...... its a quick overclock option, but there was so difference when in windows and using the programs to verify the cpu speed..... it still showed stock
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2013, 08:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frosty View Post
does cpuz or any program show the overclock?
Now that I disabled HT in the bios, it oc's according to my bios settings. Both AI Suite and CPU-Z show the oc.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2013, 09:27 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

well disabling HT sucks, why would you want to do that?
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2013, 04:11 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

did you read Matt's posts? He said
Quote:
So I have discovered that enabling hyperthreading in my bios prevents it from oc'ing my cpu. Also, when HT is enabled, win7 does not actually detect it anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2013, 05:13 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,091

My System Specs

Default

I loaded optimized defaults and i seems to have unlocked mine.

__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2013, 06:40 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

Okay, Firstly I would like to thank all you replied to this post. I appreciate your input, suggestions and ideas.

returned home from a short vacation tonight. The computers been off for a few days now. Since my first post to three days ago, I have been messing with the bios non stop, trying to get a overclock to read in windows... well...now it does....

I "reset" bios to defaults (yet again), rebooted and then only changed 3 settings in the bios....

1 - i turned on the "eleet" option to "enable"
2 - changed my multyplier to 45
3 - enabled the setting for volts when exceeding 4.0 ghz (Internal PLL Voltage)

now windows shows the overclock... weird I say..... i wonder if in the end it had something to do with the windows updates.... I have had it off for a long time and just now have started to download the upadates. Wondering if it had anything to do with the Sp1 which i installed or the netframe work updates......
Attached Images
 
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid

Last edited by frosty; March 12, 2013 at 06:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2013, 06:44 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,091

My System Specs

Default

I'm Glad you can Play
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2013, 04:12 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

since i have everyone still here, i thought maybe i could bounce this off all of you...

now the cpu is running at 4.5 ghz... this is what the memory is showing in cpuZ..... seems rather slow no?

bios settings are as follows under the memory configuration tab:

Memory frequency : 1600mhz
timings are set to: 8-8-8-24 (factory settings on sticks)


i do not remember seeing a "linked" or "unlinked" options in bios..... is this where XMp profiles come into play?
Attached Images
 
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2013, 04:16 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

If your kit is 1600Mhz memory it's running correctly.

DDR = Double Data Rate, so 798.3 X 2 = 1596
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2013, 05:22 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Exactly right. What does it say in the extended mem profile tab?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sign the Poutition Killswitch Off Topic 0 April 27, 2012 06:28 PM
[WTB] BQ campaign sign FlyingFish Buy/Sell & Trade 61 April 13, 2011 09:47 PM
Sign... 486 Off Topic 17 October 14, 2009 12:34 PM
who can sign a passport photo? xghostz Off Topic 17 October 15, 2008 10:28 AM
Guests, You Should Sign Up!! arekieh Suggestions & Feedback 13 October 8, 2008 03:14 PM