Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 03:26 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

i dont have problems....yet
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 04:03 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I wish I could help- I've never overclocked an AMD before- I'm sure you've seen this link, and it certainly doesn't answer all the questions, but it gives an idea of what they're capable of:
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1815
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 06:02 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,419

My System Specs

Default

I'm wondering what you're asking then?

In order to OC an AMD you need to raise the HTT(fsb) while keeping your HT below 1000, and watching your mem (it's better to find the max of cpu & mem on their own first by keeping the other low, and then find the best mix based on those individual limits).

You're probably safe going right up to 230, but after that try increments of 5 and test.

Keep an eye on your temps using something like speedfan (60c is the absolute max under load, and I usually get a bit squeemish when it starts going over 50c).

3DMark `03 & superpi are pretty good short time benchmarks (`03 will usually gack on either the first or second tests if you've pushed either the cpu or the mem too far) & prime95 for longterm stability tests. (Usually if you get an error after more than 5 minutes you can try a small bump in vcore).

Highest "safe" vcore for that chip is widely accepted as being around 1.55 (I'm running 1.65) but with stock air, you probably won't be able to get that high while still keeping acceptable temps.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; March 17, 2007 at 06:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 09:40 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

how do i keep my HTT low and humm all...

if i hot 230FSB i'll have my cpu clocked a 2.3Ghz
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 09:58 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,419

My System Specs

Default

Try dropping your "northbridge fsb" setting in bios and see if that drops your HT in cpu-z.

Your chip normally runs @ 200X11=2200 so 230X11=2530. Your mem @ 230 1-1 will be running @ DDR460 well below the DDR500 it's rated for.

Ideally if you can get your chip to run @ 250 within safe temps you'll get full benefit of your stock mem settings (DDR500) as well as a fairly decent cpu OC (2750) but that would probably take 1.6 vcore and your temps will probably be pretty high.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 11:05 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

i know that 230x11 its 2530mhz but like i said putting my fsb to 221 and higher my multiplier goes automaticly to 221x10
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 11:12 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Found it

the FID/VID Change lets me put the multiplier and vcore

im at 225FSB and 2475mhz right now.. i'll test it higher tomorow

if i can get 2.6, 2.7Ghz i'll be the happiest of all :P
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 11:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,419

My System Specs

Default

Ummmmmmm that's pretty damn wierd............. This isn't an "AMD overclocking" thing it's a board thing......

Is there a setting somewhere for manual OC? Sounds like there's some wierd board auto OC thingy going on........
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 11:13 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,419

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0k0 View Post
Found it

the FID/VID Change lets me put the multiplier and vcore

im at 225FSB and 2475mhz right now.. i'll test it higher tomorow
Heh... ok that's better.... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 01:04 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

do you think my cpu will hit the same has you...?305x10 :P or 277x11 would be better for 3ghz haha
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quaddro FX 3700 = 8800GT? Babrbarossa Video Cards 2 January 27, 2008 06:51 AM