Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/overclocking-tweaking-benchmarking/)
-   -   My 2500k Overclocking Adventure (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/overclocking-tweaking-benchmarking/59457-my-2500k-overclocking-adventure.html)

igot6strings February 1, 2013 08:59 AM

My 2500k Overclocking Adventure

Question. I'm new to sandybridge. I have my offset set to -0.08 and my VID shows as 1.43v at 4.5ghz. Does that mean my voltage is actually 1.35v? From what I understand Voltage = VID +/- Offset? Is that correct? If someone can clear that up for me it'd be greatly appreciated. TY!

SKYMTL February 1, 2013 09:18 AM

Which motherboard are you using?

In some cases, the overclocking voltage offset will be default voltage + offset = total voltage. For example, if your CPU's default voltage is 1.35V, adding an offset of 0.050V will result in a voltage of 1.40V before vdroop.

igot6strings February 1, 2013 09:44 AM

GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket 1155 - GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 (rev. 1.0)

Currently it shows 1.43v VID at load. I have my offset set at -0.08. All is stable and temps great however my understanding of vid and offset is next to nothing. I assumed that since I set offset -0.08 that my voltage is actually1.35v. Is that incorrect?

SKYMTL February 1, 2013 09:58 AM

Remember, VID is the actual stock voltage of the chip as read by the motherboard. VID is short for "voltage identification". The VCore is the actual AMOUNT of voltage being applied to said chip.

I don't really see how your mobo is picking up VID as 1.43V since the 2500K's default voltage is 1.20V. It could be applying LLC to prevent VDroop or your monitoring software may be off.

Basically, stock voltage (VID) + 0.08 = 1.28V. Honestly though, mobos rarely get VID right so expect some variance.

Perineum February 1, 2013 10:53 AM

Also, that CPU should be able to do 4.5ghz at around 1.35v