Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 19, 2013, 02:35 PM
MVP

My System Specs

Default Benchmarking in Win7 Vs Win8

I've noticed a big difference between the Novabench scores I get with Win7 vs Win8 on the same machine. Here is my Win7 score

I'll post a reply in a few minutes when I test my Win8 settings on this dual boot machine.

I'm using ASUS AI Suite to do most of my system adjustments. I've also set the BIOS to "extreme".

I'm relatively new to this benchmark game so be gentle

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Old January 19, 2013, 03:04 PM
MVP

My System Specs

Default Win8 Results

Rebooted and tried to set things close to the same.

Win8 shows all 32GB RAM.

And here's the result:

Huge difference - Win7 is almost 50% faster than Win8. What gives?

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Old January 19, 2013, 03:13 PM
Allstar

I have not used Nova Bench before. might want to try something like PCMARK7 or Vantage to confirm your issues. Vantage I know breaks down scoring for all your hardware so you might be able to pinpoint the why. I would assume it is a driver issue or something because I can tell you generally Windows 8 is snappier then Windows 7 as an OS. I have not been able to notice any difference in application speeds between the two OSes.

Could try Sandra 2013 as well, try a few suites and compare them between the OSes... could just be that one benchmarking tool.
Old January 19, 2013, 06:13 PM
MVP

My System Specs

Default Win 8 Vs Win8 in PCMark7

Similar results.

Win 8 = 2372
Win 7 = 3987

Result {Hmmm do you need to log in to see the results???}