Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2013, 03:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 222

My System Specs

Default

How do i know when to drop down voltage or not? I'm sorry for being a complete 'noob' at this. I want to learn so badly, but im so scared of breaking stuff and its all so new to me.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2013, 03:29 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

You aren't going to break anything by decreasing the voltage, you'll know to stop stepping it down when your system becomes unstable.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2013, 03:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 222

My System Specs

Default

Okay voltage is now at 1.3v.
How much should i drop it down each time?
How exactly do i know if its stable?
An hour of stress testing?
Or if it just boots?
Temps also seem to have decreased a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2013, 03:39 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 539

My System Specs

Default

Keep reducing the voltage until you get errors on p95 or blue screen. You should need around 1.24v for 4.5Ghz, though every chip is different.

Once you establish what vcore you need, they you can play around with offset & speedstep to reduce thermals and core speed when there's no load.

Temps will decrease relative to voltage, on Ivy it's a steep curve. I'd try 1.26, 1.25 etc. Fine tune as you get closer to the chips capabilities.

Also, it's a good idea to loosen your ram when ovwerclocking to make sure thait's not causing issues- so that if you lock-up you'll know it was the cpu. If your rams is 1600 set it to 1333 in bios while you're fooling with things.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2013, 03:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

SmallFFT for CPU testing in P95, Blend for RAM.
I would be pulling that heatsink off and making sure you have good contact with the paste.
I hope your fans on the cpu heatsink are push/pull
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2013, 03:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 222

My System Specs

Default

Ugh should i really take off this heatsink :( ? I had to reinstall this twice (my original mb was DAO). Temps have gone down since i switched from 1.35v to 1.3v. If i remove the heatsink, what is the best way for thermal paste? I just did a pea sized drop and put the heatsink on. It did just fine, IMO. Ill go turn down the vcore to 1.28v if thats okay with you guys. Should i do prime 95 afterwards or shut down the pc and turn down the vcore again until i just bluescreen from boot?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2013, 04:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,369

My System Specs

Default

Your voltage is a problem and can be lowered but I also agree you should reseat the CPU cooler, clean it off and start with fresh paste. 60c load at stock on an nhd14 is way too high... I'm using a 2500k which runs cooler but I sit at 50 with a hyper 212+ at load.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2013, 04:05 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 539

My System Specs

Default

I'd run prime 15 mins just to establish if has some stability. Once you get what you think is the optimum setting for your rig, run for longer.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2013, 04:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 222

My System Specs

Default

Alright ill start messing with the vcore, and as for the cpu reseating, i might do it tomorrow, but then again, where im living, its not really that cold, it was 70F the other day.

Edit: I'm not going to lie/hide it. Honestly , i cannot fully remember the @100% load temps for my stock cpu. I was saying 60c as a safe limit. I know this is crucial, but i dont normally check temps while in game. Usually like a minute afterwards. I never had any problems gaming though.

edit 2: I don't know why, hopefully this isn't a huge problem, but i went straight ahead from 1.28 to 1.24. Prime 95 crashed within 30 seconds but no blue screens. I went to 1.25v and temps were at 65c average on cores 1, 3, 4, but 75 on core 2. I dont know if this is odd. Unfortunately, however, i got a BSOD within 5 minutes. I read online that code 3b suggests to increase the vcore. Should i got to 1.26v? I might reapply thermal paste tomorrow. Is 60-80c in prime95 bad, good, or normal? thank you so much guys!

UPDATE:
Prime95 test @4.5ghz vcore 1.26v no crash for 10 minutes. Max temps 67, 81, 76, 70. I read ivy bridge can run a bit high at times? Is this is a stable overclock? :D I'm starting to get the hang of this i think.


Last edited by PcWizTech; January 2, 2013 at 05:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2013, 06:58 PM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 421

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PcWizTech View Post
...Is this is a stable overclock? :D I'm starting to get the hang of this i think.
High Five buddy. most guys will be saying by now run the P95 for extended time... hours, overnite or something.

me, I just like to get into a 4 or 5 hour set of heavy gaming... real world tests mate!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How high can I overclock * Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 9 October 6, 2011 09:17 PM
i5 750: are these temps too high? Jack_Daniels CPU's and Motherboards 11 July 3, 2010 04:21 PM
Temps seem a little high... element291 Air Cooling 28 January 15, 2009 08:33 PM
High Temps BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 20 July 14, 2008 04:32 PM
HDD, CPU temps too high? donimo HTPC Systems & Software 12 June 6, 2008 09:34 AM