Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2012, 08:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default stock 1.45V on 1055t? please help.

when i run stock CMOS settings on my crosshair formula v motherboard, i get 1.45V and sometimes it even hits 1.50V on my 1055t. this seems really high for stock seeing how the voltage monitor is always on high, and hits the crazy zone on my motherboard. i also get like 49C running idle on my cpu. please let me know if this is ok for my system. thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 07:34 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,145

My System Specs

Default

That does seem high. Is the CPU frequency changing with load (ie: is cool and quiet working?)
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 09:29 AM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 439

My System Specs

Default

Yea it sounds like the cpu is going full tilt the whole time. 49c idle is WAY to high tbh because that only gives you a 10c thermal headroom give or take
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 09:39 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

This was my 1055 OC thread. Final settings were:

FSB 270
multiplier x14 (stock/locked)
vcore 1.42
total OC 3.8
temps 54C under load.

I kept it conservative since I fold, and my CPU is pegged 100% of the time. You could probably hit 4.0Ghz if you are a little more conservative. Also, I'm using an AIO water cooler (equivalent to an H80), so you may need to upgrade your cooler if you're having temp problems.

EDIT: I just saw that you're at STOCK settings. Whoah, crazy. I wonder why your board is pegging the voltage so much? Maybe you should turn off all the auto settings (coolnquiet, turboboost, etc) and try to set an overclock at the (conservative) settings I'm running...
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;

Last edited by great_big_abyss; December 7, 2012 at 09:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 10:32 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

cool n quiet, turbo core, and C1e are all disabled. when i run rog connect on a laptop hooked up to my system, it tells me that my voltage for my cpu is set at 1.375, but when i look at the voltage that it is actually at, it keeps hitting 1.462v. and in my bios, when i look at the voltage, it says its at 1.44 or at 1.49
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 10:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

another thing, i have a stock cooler, and i read this article that someone wrote Overclocking the AMD 1055T – 3700mhz out of the box | KitGuru and i can get those speeds, but when i run P95, worker 4 crashes in about 4-5 minutes, and sometimes i get the BSOD. anyone have any help on how to get my system stable at those speeds? ive tried adjusting voltage, but no matter what worker 4 still crashes on P95
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 04:19 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

What is your CPU-NB speed and voltage? That plays a major part in overall system speed and stability.

This might help you.

Last edited by Killswitch; December 7, 2012 at 04:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 05:22 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,145

My System Specs

Default

Not all CPU will clock to the same freq. try backing it down a bit (and I wouldn't expect near those clocks on the stock cooler). If you want a cooler running CPU your going to need a better cooler .
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 07:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

i had the cpu/nb set to 2120mhz, and the voltage was on auto at 1.15v. If i am not increasing voltage, then i should be able to reach 3.7ghz no problem without much more heat being produced. i was able to run a full PCmark benchmark without it crashing, and it stayed at about 50-55C. The only time it crashes is when i run P95. I read another article where they reached the same speeds with no voltage increase. AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Overclocking - X-bit labs
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1055T vs 965 great_big_abyss CPU's and Motherboards 14 November 22, 2011 05:58 PM
AMD X6 1055T and MSI 890GXM-G65 sskilla Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 December 2, 2010 04:49 PM
Help with 1055t cbr1100xx Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 October 28, 2010 03:35 PM
AMD 955 or 1055T? jcmaz CPU's and Motherboards 7 May 17, 2010 08:55 AM