Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2012, 06:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default thermal probes on the cpu

I am currently trying to test the effectiveness of various thermal compounds (TIMs) on cpu processors. I am currently trying to find the thinnest thermal probe/thermocouple I can find for this project.
My current idea is that I could place one prob ontop of the CPU and then apply the thermal compound. I would then place another probe and then attach the heatsink.

From there I could measure the heatchange and calculate the thermal conductivity of the product.

I have seen many techniques that would first take the processor and mill out a canal in the casing of the processor to place the thermocouple inside, but I am hoping that there is another way

Any advice or input is appreciated!
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2012, 07:16 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,572

My System Specs

Default

Nope. Any thermal probe is going to ruin the mount. I'm not sure about milling out a channel on the proc, why not onto the block instead?

Either way it's damn near impossible.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2012, 07:17 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

I don't know if I would attempt to place a prob there as it will defeat the purpose and cause a air gap , and to be honest I see no real difference in temps between any fancy TIM or plain old thermal paste that I have used and apparently mayonnaise is a good alternative LOL
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2012, 07:19 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Your best option is a laser thermometer if you want precise measurements, putting a probe on the CPU directly will result in a bad mount. Trust me, I did that once with a GPU and a fan controller and i cooked the GPU and the motherboard.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2012, 10:06 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Agreed 100% with above, don't do that - what you will do will defeat the whole purpose of TIM and proper contact with CPU for proper h.d.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2012, 06:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

isee...
so what would you guys recommend for trying to find the thermal conductivity of the TIM?

If I had some way of measuring the temperature on the surface and on the surface just below the heat sink it would be a really simple calculation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2012, 07:35 AM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

Why are you trying to find that info out ? I did link you in my above post to a pretty thorough comparison of different TIMs from high end stuff to Mayonnaise and there was only a 3 deg difference from the top performer to Mayonnaise , now we know lipstick is not a very good TIM but it was still with in a few deg of all the name brand stuff ....

But if you determined to find it out Superflyx3 gave you a pretty decent suggestion about using a laser thermometer..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2012, 10:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

lol sorry i didn't click on the mayonaise bit since i thought it was a joke.

I guess i could use an IR thermometer but I am ultimately unsure of what points to measuring with that approach since I would be unable to read the temp of the center of the die, or the temp of where the heat sink comes in contact with the TIM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2012, 10:09 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,040

My System Specs

Default

You're overthinking this, I think.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2012, 10:30 AM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
You're overthinking this, I think.
That's what I am thinking, like the that review points out all but the Chocolate are within a few deg and IMO is not worth fretting over
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 580 thermal paste mikellini Video Cards 13 November 17, 2010 10:37 PM
Thermal Pad vs. Thermal paste? RainMaker Troubleshooting 2 April 13, 2010 07:13 PM
Voltage regulator block (Thermal tape or thermal counpound?) Mavvens Water Cooling 5 August 8, 2009 06:56 PM
How much thermal compound? 4DoorGTZ Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 April 2, 2009 07:15 PM
Best thermal compound? Cadence Air Cooling 10 December 14, 2008 05:17 PM