Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2013, 07:23 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

Very nice chip, hang on to that one. Could do some very good clocks with some added voltage, or not Ivy is odd that way
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2013, 09:38 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

Damn I wish I had good chips. I need at least 1.35 for both my 3770K's on my P8Z77-V Pro.

Just delidded my chip last night and going to drop it into my new MVG tonight. Hopefully the numbers improve... will take a miracle to get one like turtletrax's lol. I've always had crap luck with CPUs.
Attached Images
   
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2013, 11:18 AM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton(ish)
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

I will crank on it a bit when I get some time this weekend. Will see what max reasonable clocks are.


Just a random shelf grab off memory express :)
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2013, 01:42 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

I have been wondering if I shuld do this. 3570k with a scythe mine 2 should not be 77C at stock voltage and 4.0 it sounds like...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2013, 01:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

I had a crappy Corsair A50 sitting on my 3770K before the surgery and it was already hitting similar 75-80C on stock clocks. Tonight if everything ends up working I will let you know what it comes down to.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2013, 01:51 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
I had a crappy Corsair A50 sitting on my 3770K before the surgery and it was already hitting similar 75-80C on stock clocks. Tonight if everything ends up working I will let you know what it comes down to.
Cool, I thought the A50 I had was the problem and dropped a bunch of coin on a Mine 2 which should have done SOMETHING.


but it didn't.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2013, 02:23 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,138

My System Specs

Default

The A50 isn't a bad cooler, I've got one. About equal to a Hyper 212. But you need an AIO or custom loop to control the heat.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2013, 02:29 PM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton(ish)
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
I have been wondering if I shuld do this. 3570k with a scythe mine 2 should not be 77C at stock voltage and 4.0 it sounds like...
If you do be sure to use a thin blade such as the double sided shaving razor. Clip one side off and tape it well so you dont do any self surgery

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
I had a crappy Corsair A50 sitting on my 3770K before the surgery and it was already hitting similar 75-80C on stock clocks. Tonight if everything ends up working I will let you know what it comes down to.
Look forward to seeing if all is well. Been a long time since I have de-lidded, but after you do it once it is pretty easy. Interested to see if Solvoplast works the same on Intel adhesive as it did AMD. Crossfire2009 (I think??) said he didn't think it made a difference, but if you have never done it before, hard to make that claim. Priming my chip at 4.5Ghz 1.1v now and still going strong, so dont think I will flip the top on this one. Especially when I have my hex @4.8ghz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
Cool, I thought the A50 I had was the problem and dropped a bunch of coin on a Mine 2 which should have done SOMETHING.


but it didn't.
I would be choked too. I think you would make some pretty decent gains de-lidding.
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2013, 05:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

The last chip I delidded was a 3000+ Venice after the X2's came out and prices on single cores plunged. Did that one with a Swiss army knife and ran it naked (still running in my bro's download machine).

This Intel chip was much harder to get started than the A64 but once one corner went in / lifted, the rest were much easier.


__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2013, 05:56 PM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton(ish)
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

First de-lid I did was on a $650 AMD 4400+ X2 When they released. Took a chunk out of the package but it still worked, thought I was gonna shit myself before it POSTed. That's when I started looking for options to loosen the adhesive and found solvoplast, the rest were a breeze.
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is this ram good for i7 3770 k yehia7000 RAM 9 September 9, 2012 11:27 AM
i7 3770 k overclocking problem yehia7000 CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 24, 2012 09:16 PM
UGH, damn you HTC! LarkStarr Mobile Computing 2 April 13, 2011 07:33 PM
Damn.. Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 19 December 11, 2009 05:47 PM
Damn it shaw! Phobia Networking 14 April 1, 2009 02:00 AM