Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2012, 12:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: London Ontario Canada
Posts: 8
Default E8400 and Asus P5B overclock

Hello everybody, I am new to the forum but not new to computers at all.

I would like to give a breakdown of my current system configuration.
-E8400 (Stepping E0 shown in Core Temp)
-6gb (4 sticks) ddr2 800mhz (kingston kvr800d2n5k2/4g)
-Asus P5B Motherboard
-Noctua NH-D14 HSF
-Nvidia Geforce 9800GT
-Cooler Master HAF 932
-Antec 850W PSU

My current temps on idle are about 28/29 celcius and within BF3 they hit about 39 degree celcius @ 3.0ghz

Now, what I have tried? Well I've been reading forum posts/threads/guides on overclocking and I think I am on the right track but I'm a bit lost and if anybody can point me in the right direction it would be greatly apprectiated :-)

The CPU is currently at 3.8ghz, windows works 'OK' but I was having a problem loading into BF3 today. I reset the motherboard back to factory settings and at 3.0ghz I loaded int BF3 no issues.
When I run Prime95 with it overclocked, it does give me an error within the first few min and stops the tests.

Here are what my bios configurations were:




One concern I do have is wit hthe DRAM frequency. Since my memory is DDR2 800mhz, when I set my CPU frequency to 423, my DRAM frequency jumps to DDR2-846MHz. So would that mean that my memory is working much harder then it would be at 800mhz??

I am not sure if I should be working on the NB/SB vcore's also.

Any suggestions/help/understanding would be great :-)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2012, 02:30 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,538

My System Specs

Default

Drop your RAM down so its below 800Mhz, up the vcore to 1.4 and keep bumping up the FSB, stress test it for an hour or so in prime to make sure its stable, and repeat. Once you're at your desired clock speed try bringing down the VCore as much as you can while still being stable.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
e8400 , overclock

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will my psu be able to handle asus gtx 560 (no overclock ) vishal Video Cards 20 August 25, 2012 12:31 PM
Overclock Menu on ASUS motherboards RLP06 CPU's and Motherboards 8 May 8, 2010 08:30 AM
First Overclock, at 3.82GHz (E8400) Featherawr Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 March 8, 2009 10:37 AM
Asus P5Q-E and E8400 OC help Alwaysrun Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 39 October 11, 2008 12:29 PM
Why did you overclock your E8400? mazabe Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 22 August 23, 2008 01:10 AM