Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 04:13 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: India
Posts: 124

My System Specs

Default Over clocking phenomx6 1100t BE....

My pc spec:

cpu:phenom x6 1100t BE.
gpu:Palit gt 220 1gb ddr3.
psu: cooler master extreme power plus 650 watt(RS-650-PCAR-E3).
ram:zion 1333 mhz 8 gb.
mb:jetway hummer HA12-LF.
sound card:creative sound blaster 5.1 vx.
hdd:samsung 500gb (model HD503HI ).
cpu cooler : cooler master hyper 212 evo with 2 fans in push pull config.

my current temps
cpu ideal : 27 degrees C. mb ideal: 40 degrees C.
cpu average : 33 degrees C. mb average : 44 degrees C.
cpu 100% : 55 degrees C. mb 100% :64 degrees C.

i want to overclock to 3.6 all the 6 cores.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 05:48 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 541
Default

Is that pre overclock? those load temps are high even if it is OCed to 3.6. Something is not right.

- Is there a dust bunny trapped in the heat sink wishing for it all to end?
- Thermal compound applied right?

I have not used that cooler specifically but almost any after market cooler should get you at least 3.8Ghz on that chip and stay around 50C under load.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 05:53 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Do you know your way around the bios at all? Since it's an ulocked processor, and you're not really shooting for a high OC you should be able to just bump the CPU multiplier up a notch without having to do anything with the voltage and/or memory settings. Anything other than a straight cpu mulitiplier bump and you're going to have to start watching your memory as it probably doesn't have a lot of headroom.

And yeah... your temps seem high unless you happen to be in an area with extremely high ambient temps and no ac.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 08:08 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: India
Posts: 124

My System Specs

Default

sorry guys about my wrong informations on cpu & mb temps the temps on 100% load on 3.3ghz are

cpu:46 degrees C.
mb:54 degrees C.

done amd stability test for 30 min.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 09:53 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,369

My System Specs

Default

that should be a very easy OC to do , I could never get mine past 3.8 and running smooth. but 3.6 is like one bump.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 02:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: India
Posts: 124

My System Specs

Default

does overclocking reduces the life of the cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 02:38 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 435

My System Specs

Default

Honestly 3.6 is what that cpu will probably run at if all the cores arent stressed (mine did till i locked it a 3.3). You wont notice the small increase in speed from 3.3 to 3.6... So no the OC you want wont hurt it at all
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 02:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: India
Posts: 124

My System Specs

Default

so what are the steps to overclock.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 04:35 PM
Master_Shake_'s Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 125

My System Specs

Default

all i did for this computer was set the multi to 20 and put the voltage to 1.4

pretty good i'd say heatsink is a coolit eco ALC
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 04:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,924

My System Specs

Default

go into the bios and increase the multiplier. its 200 x multiplier = cpu frequency. 3.6 ghz should be a no hassle overclock, so you should be able to go in the bios and change the multiplier to 18.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS Crosshair Formula V/ 1100T norfolk Price Check 4 June 5, 2012 08:09 PM
[WTB] Fx-8120/Fx-8150/x6 1090t/x6 1100t lilmoja Buy/Sell & Trade 5 May 1, 2012 08:04 AM
Marginal upgrade with AMD 1100T? moocow CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 15, 2012 08:06 AM
phenom ii 1100T overclock mavriskia Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 3, 2011 08:58 AM
[WTB] need a motherboard for an 1100t x6 _dangtx_ Buy/Sell & Trade 0 August 21, 2011 03:55 PM