Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 02:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
They say that 1:1 offers the most stable overclock, so that if your memory can handle it, you cn acheive better performance when it's locked in at 1:1- My mobo unlocks, which is good for me, as my memory wont go much over 800MHz so when my cpu is clocked to 3800, that would mean that my memory would have to run at 900 MHz (450fsb X 2): the CPU is at 450fsb X 8= 3800. If you have a good set of 667, it can overclock to 800 so you can run it at 1:1 and get 3200MHz out of your CPU- but cheap stuff will limit you.

EDIT: I just remembered that you're running a Q6700 so wherever I use 8X, you use 12X- although you multiplier is unlocked, isn't it?
You are asking if my multipler is unlocked!!! I don't know how to answer (not very familiar with computer)...I know the multiplier and the FSB can be set indivudually...if this is what you are asking.
I can't bring my FSB no more than 275 witout problems...so I raise the multiplier to get some arithmetic speed (I use it for CAD).
I read that there is a patch that it is coming for this mobo...maybe software or hardware to fix this bootleneck at the FSB level

If I understand, I should bring my FSB to 333MHz to be at 1:1 with my memory!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 04:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 104
Default

you don't understand. 1:1 is good for high overclocks on the cpu. but if the cpu won't go to high, then run the ram with a divider to get the mem bandwidth up. although it won't produce a huge performance gain
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 04:55 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

What are your voltages set to in the bios?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 05:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

OK...I don't understand.

How do you run the RAM with a divider to get the mem BW up?

At 3.3 GHz, when I run 4 instances Prime95, the TAT is 80C for each processor.


CPU voltage = 1.3375
FSB voltage = 1.250
MCH/ICH voltage = 1.525
Memory voltage = 1.84; 4-4-4-12 Non-ECC
Processor X = 12
Host Clock Freq. = 275
PCI Bus Freq.= 33.33 MHz PCI Latency = 32
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to change aspect ratio for widescreen bobaban Troubleshooting 5 July 16, 2010 04:39 PM
Best GPU price / performance ratio: 3DMark Babrbarossa Video Cards 8 January 28, 2008 04:25 AM
ultra high frequency noise? magictorch Troubleshooting 14 November 29, 2007 05:27 PM
dram ratio? 3.0charlie RAM 5 July 14, 2007 02:09 PM