Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2012, 12:22 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default GTX 670/680 Kepler OC thread

1. What card you are using?
2. What is your OC?
3. What is your ASIC?
(ASIC can be checked on gpu-z by clicking the top left corner to get the drop down menu)

I'll go first, considering I am the one starting the thread.
1. Gigabyte GTX 670 Windforce (probably the worst one to have made it past their quality control too, so I must get points for this right?)
2. 1059Base/1138CertifiedBoost/1202MaxBoost/6804Mem
3. ASIC: 89.0% ! ! !
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2012, 03:18 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

89% ASIC quality is actually not bad at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2012, 03:36 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default

compared to video cards in general yeah (my old 580 was getting 57% so yeah) but from what I've gathered most keplers are in the 98-100% range. guess it has something to do with the new 28nm process, also the fact that you get no voltage control makes it a disadvantage!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2012, 03:38 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Both of mine have 100%. I haven't OC'd them though is that why? I haven't bothered to test out my OC on the MSI as it easily hits over 70 degrees in SLi and downclocks. Waiting till I get these puppies under water.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2012, 01:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nepean Ont
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default 64 Bit MSI Afterburner

Is there such a thing?

All I can seem to find is the 32 bit Ver

Thanks Fuz
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2012, 02:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 29
Default



680 Gigabyte reference card, have it under water under a EK block. It turbos at 1320~ Max Load temp 41c

ASIC is 100% as well
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2012, 01:00 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default

ok got a 2nd Gigabyte GTX 670 OC and I have no clue what is up with my luck....
ASIC at 82.8%...the card wasn't even stable stock until I updated the bios (still can't OC it though as anything higher than stock still isn't stable on the core).

What is up with my luck?



Update: the memory seems to be quite impressive considering how bad the gpu is. I'm getting it stable with no problems at +570 (didn't try any higher as I stopped seeing noticable performance increases after the +500s).

Last edited by BrutalGreen; July 18, 2012 at 01:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2012, 11:12 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,714

My System Specs

Default

Asus 670DCII (not top)

ASIC is 100%

GPU clock: 1092
Memory: 1584
Boost: 1157

No idea how to see the Max boost.. lol

Bios version is 80.04.19.00.17 compared to some others here with end of 54 or 70.. worth updating?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2012, 09:00 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Bios version is 80.04.19.00.17 compared to some others here with end of 54 or 70.. worth updating?
I wouldn't unless I was getting problems...(which I was with the 2nd card)

forums.overclockers.co.uk thread on people with the Windforce GTX 670, their ASIC and their OC. From the looks of it either I have the worst luck of all with 2 of the most terrible cards, or there is something in the production and distribution pipelines that makes it so that the retailer where I bought mine (NCIX) get the worst batch of them all...

People reporting stock boosts of 1200mhz, while my first card could barely do this at max barely stable OC and the 2nd card can't even OC and gets boost of 1086mhz...(cooling is not an issue as these cards never get past 62-63C).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 05:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nepean Ont
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default GTX 670 Unlocked Voltage Bios

I have a Windforce 670 I am considering flashing to the L2 Bios has anybody tried this & if so is it worth it?

I am presently sitting @ +112 on the gpu & +258 with the memory

Thanks fuz

GTX 670 Unlocked Voltage Bios
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kepler and folding Pabz0r545 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 June 26, 2012 10:29 AM
NVIDIA Launches Kepler Based GPU For Laptops Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 5, 2012 12:07 PM
Nvidia Kepler & Tegra stuff... Grampa Rumor Mill 93 May 8, 2012 11:16 AM
Worth waiting for Kepler? 7870 good enough? BukitHedd Video Cards 13 April 2, 2012 07:14 PM
Spire Announces Kepler Series Universal CPU Coolers Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 October 10, 2011 10:11 AM