Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 04:23 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

Thanks YFG.
Some good info there.
I'll give those voltages and what not a go once my tf101 is charged and I have something to look off while in the bios.

One question I do have though. When I use the XMP with my ram it only runs at 800mhz, is this normal? My system doesn't seem to be bogged down or anything and all runs fine and well. I've been using manual settings to get it to 1600.
Attached Images
   

Last edited by igot6strings; July 11, 2012 at 05:19 AM. Reason: add images
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 01:18 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

holding stable with ram at 1.52v at 1600mhz manual setting @ 4.0ghz for the last 6hrs. fingers crossed.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 01:22 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Set the ram to 1.65v and make sure the timings are good.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 01:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

dont skimp on ram juice that boards ram voltage will droop on load

1.6-1.65v
what revision is the ram
you might be able to clock them higher
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 03:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

roger that.
Set it to 1.65v now. Its running ok so far. Put the CPU down to 3.8 for a bit while I test the waters. Seems a bit snappier now though. Thanks.

edit:

Prime95 runs no trouble but I get BSOD and random resets after gaming for about 45mins. Temps peak at 80c at 4.2ghz. Running at 3.8 now and temps are low.
Ram seems to do best around 1.6-1.65 however its still not stable. Not sure how to proceed. More cpu juice maybe?

Last edited by igot6strings; July 12, 2012 at 04:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2012, 02:37 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

I'm having a hell of time keeping this system stable even at stock(24x133=3192). I don't know if I have bunk ram or not but nothing I do keeps the system stable. I'm at a loss as to what to do next. I think I may have to return my ram as I think thats the culprit. My old kit, kvr 2x4gb work just fine so its either my board or my ram. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2012, 11:12 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

Issues solved.
Turns out there was a mounting screw that didn't line up to any hole that was glitching out my southbridge. It didn't have anything to do with my settings, cpu or ram.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD on its way, any tips TedShackley Storage 2 November 21, 2011 08:01 PM
X58 OCing yycraven Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 July 22, 2011 10:43 PM
OCing Help Finkswitch Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 February 4, 2011 04:33 AM
OC tips Wurmer Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 August 11, 2009 06:33 PM
Got any i7 OC tips? Babrbarossa Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 April 13, 2009 12:44 PM