Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 04:59 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 652

My System Specs

Default HELPPPPP! Please help me oc my I7 960 with a X58A-UD3R board

I need help please, this is only my 3rd set up and never really oc'd 1366 manually before. Always did auto oc. Has anyone had any experience with this set up? similar to mine?

I7 960
X58A-UD3R
3x2GIG Mushkin Redline 6-8-6 24 2T

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 05:05 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Guide to Overclocking the Core I7 920 or 930 to 4.0ghz
Thats for a 920, but the basics are the same.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 05:14 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,960

My System Specs

Default

multi 21

QPI 198

V cpu 1.34

pcie +0.5

Ram 1.60 V

Set Ram timings manuly

Ram at 2:8

see what happens

fans at 100 %

then ajust to :

40 at at 75 %

60 C at 100 %

se what happens
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 05:28 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 652

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Guide to Overclocking the Core I7 920 or 930 to 4.0ghz
Thats for a 920, but the basics are the same.

Sweet thanks, very nice, let me try this!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
multi 21

QPI 198

V cpu 1.34

pcie +0.5

Ram 1.60 V

Set Ram timings manuly

Ram at 2:8

see what happens

fans at 100 %

then ajust to :

40 at at 75 %

60 C at 100 %

se what happens
Thank you as well sir, I am going to try this too!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 06:19 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 652

My System Specs

Default

Is this safe?

Base clock 160
Multiplier 25
CPU - everything off except HT and all cores
LLC - follow intel specs
V core 1.325
QPI/VTT 1.275 from 1.175


What do you think?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 06:25 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,960

My System Specs

Default

Looks good :)

Might take them reds off trade biat list as long as you want to keep this board.

wont find better clockers fore this board likley. Edit: Ram I mean


Edit : Wats your temps NB ? SB ? CPU ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 06:39 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 652

My System Specs

Default

max i get is I believe 44, I ran linx a boot ago and max temps for cpu were 68 degrees and I am using Prolimatech Meghalems with 2 scythimg 1900rpm fans. Yes this ram is really sick. crazy timing lol
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 06:45 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,960

My System Specs

Default

that 25 multi realy helps on the temps. looks good :)
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 06:48 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 652

My System Specs

Default

ya, thank you for all your help!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 06:51 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,960

My System Specs

Default

NP EH...
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R misreading temps? Syn3rgetic Troubleshooting 8 December 28, 2010 05:41 PM
core i7 930 + gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 2.0 imperatrix Troubleshooting 44 November 17, 2010 05:10 PM
Is that a good choice for Case & Power for a Gigabyte X58A-UD3R ? Godis New Builds 14 July 18, 2010 07:08 PM
[FS] Brand new Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R - $200 Zero82z Buy/Sell & Trade 3 July 10, 2010 03:06 PM
Gigabyte x58a-ud3r madmax2 CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 23, 2010 03:06 PM