Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 08:54 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default Prime95 - Disable "Auto Windows Updates, Norton Internet Security & Unplug LAN For Ov

Hey folks, just though I'd mention (for the rookies as myself and any others) that leaving Windows Automatic Updates running and Norton Internet Security running whilst running a Overnight Prime 95 Torture Test could result in some "misleading" information, only to find yourself bumping up Voltages when it may not be necessary!
With that said,
Results of my 3.8 Ghz OC with the above "off":
Bus Speed 425 Mhz x9
vCore 1.356250v
vDrop - .02625v
vDroop - .03v
Memory 4-4-4-12 2T @ 1.5v Stock 800 Mhz
All other Voltages at "Auto"

Attachment 1901

Looks like a good / stable 3.8 Ghz Overclock!!
Thanks for your patience Sugar....much appreciated!!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by rjbarker; September 13, 2008 at 10:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 11:35 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

No worries, glad to help.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 11:45 AM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

Why exactly does windows update and norton screw up the test?
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 11:52 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

If you have auto install of updates enabled, it may restart your system after updating. RJ ran into this a couple of nights ago, thought it was a failure of his system while Prime95 testing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 12:12 PM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

That doesn't explain norton though. I'm not familiar with it. Does it also auto-restart after auto-updates?
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 12:23 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

No, Norton doesn't Re-start my Rig, however, I believe it is possible that when the System is running a Prime 95 Stability Test and Norton decides to "Auto" update, install updates and then "Auto" run a Scan, this may effect the Stability of Prime 95 and cause an error.

Over the last few nights I did notice that my Prime 95 would run Small FTT fine, no errors for 3 hrs, Memtest, same thing, 3 cycles no errors, OCCT 1 Hr Auto "no errors". However, my final Stability Test is a Prime 95 "blended" Test and it always showed an error on 1 thread (other kept running) at the same time that my Norton Internet Security would decide to "Scan for Updates". This (timing) I was able to conclude by checking the Norton History.

This could be a coincidence I suppose, BUT, it seemed odd that last night (after disabling everything) I got a Stable run for 16 Hrs (that was with a lower vCore than the night before ((everything "enabled")) ).

Personally, when running my series of Stability Tests, I don't want other Programs running and I will ensure to disable these, in order to rule out the possibility of any potential "conflicts".

My next step, will be to go back to my BIOS and try a previous setting utilizing "Linked n Synch'ed running my Memory @ 850 Mhz, wouldn't be at all surprised if it works fine.

Cheers
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 12:43 PM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

Why would you not attribute that to a stability error? If norton wants to run a scan while you are using all cores on prime, it should be able to do so without errors if your system is stable. Have you tried this on stock speeds to see if it affects prime stability there? If it's only a problem when overclocked, then I think you still need to tweak your OC.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 05:51 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Perhaps....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 09:47 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

I'm still not convinced.

To my knowledge a windows update has never spontaneously rebooted my system and I have found using various stress testing programs that the only failure that prompts a reboot is Prime95. I have my doubts that windows specifically waits until Prime95 is running before it installs an update that prompts an automatic reboot also I doubt that there were 5 of those updates tonight.

I have no conclusive evidence either way but I hope you can see why I have that opinion. Sorry I don't mean to sound like an ass!

rjbarker, bottom line is that you're stable and that's what matters! Good job! If you're interested I'd like to compare notes as it seems neither one of us has one of the miracle chips that will do 4.0+ GHz at sub 1.300 voltages. PM me.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 10:30 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
I'm still not convinced.

To my knowledge a windows update has never spontaneously rebooted my system and I have found using various stress testing programs that the only failure that prompts a reboot is Prime95. I have my doubts that windows specifically waits until Prime95 is running before it installs an update that prompts an automatic reboot also I doubt that there were 5 of those updates tonight.

I have no conclusive evidence either way but I hope you can see why I have that opinion. Sorry I don't mean to sound like an ass!

rjbarker, bottom line is that you're stable and that's what matters! Good job! If you're interested I'd like to compare notes as it seems neither one of us has one of the miracle chips that will do 4.0+ GHz at sub 1.300 voltages. PM me.
It depends on how you have auto update set-up. Best way to do it is to allow it to DL the updates unattended, but to require action from you in order to actually install.

There was an update just yesterday which rebooted my quad folding rig causing me to lose a days worth of folding. (I changed the settings today to prevent that from happening again.... :) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes