Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 10:09 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,608
Default Dimm Slots

I'm gonna assume the answer here is yes, but can you damage your dimm slots from overclocking?

I pushed my ram from 400mhz to 430mhz and my cpu from 3.0ghz to 3.5ghz and it seems no matter how good the memory is that I get memory errors on error free ram.

I am planning on getting a new system, but I was wondering if the life of this board was coming to a end.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2007, 04:12 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I would guess that unless you were overvolting as well, then it was nothing you did to burn out the dimm slots
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2007, 11:27 AM
Deathspawner's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 204
Default

As Babrbarossa said, overvoltage could do it, but not extra frequency. Especially 400 > 430... that's a seriously minor difference.

Errors could be caused from dust though. I'd take the modules out and wipe the contacts with a fine, clean cloth, or your clean fingers. Use canned air to spray out the DIMM slots. Then see if the problem continues.
__________________
Techgage.com | Editor in Chief

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.20GHz, ASUS P5K Premium WiFi-AP, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, EVGA GTX 285 1024MB
Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Pioneer 22x ODD, Corsair 1000HX, Thermalright Ultra-120, CM Storm Sniper
Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Ultrasone PRO 750, Gentoo Linux (KDE 4.4, 2.6.32 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter

Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2007, 12:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

If it's an AMD proc it's possible that overclocking could damage the on-chip memory controller, but while I've come across a few folks who've lost their OC ability over time, I can't remember any case of them not being able to at least return to stock speeds.

I'd bet that one of your advanced mem settings got foobarred.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes