Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 08:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default CPU Voltage

Hi Guys, Mobo: Asus P8z77 V-Pro CPU: I5 2500K Cooler: Corsair H100 Ram: 8 GB Corsair Vengance 1600Mhz I have overclocked my CPU to 4.5 Ghz by upping CPU voltage to 1.345. However when i am doing a stability test using prime 95, i noticed on the CPU-Z HUD showing core voltage at 1.392 and sometime creeping to 1.400. My current temperatures are good at the moment. Average of 60- 63C across all cores. My question is whether it is normal for the CPU voltage to creep up above the set point of 1.345 that i have set, and whether it is safe? I am just worried i have incorrectly/ missed a crucial setting in the BIOS. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 08:53 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

well it's not normal to move up by itself but i run in like this

AIR = 1.4 Vcore max

WATER = 1.5 Vcore max

i never go over this once set and of course temps must be handle fine if any of these settings make it to go over 80c I bring it down and i prefer it to stay under 70c just my 2cents
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 08:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Could it be caused by the activation of the IGPU process? I have only recently activated the usage of Lucid MVP software and activated the internal graphics from my CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 09:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,384

My System Specs

Default

What are your BIOS settings at right now?

A. Some bios settings may cause your CPU to increase voltage during heavy loads

B. Does Lucid's MVP actually do anything? it claims it will boost framerates but I am having a hard time believing what they are saying.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 11:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default

I am out at the moment, but when i get home i will post my BIOS info.

I do not remember setting anything special in my BIOS setting.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 11:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

make sure load line calibration is turned on to reduce vdroop and vdrop, i remember going through oc guides online for the 2500k and asus board which teaches you about bios voltage settings and everything
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 05:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Yeh i turned on the load line calibration already. I basically followed the same OC guidelines as: Intel i5 2500k Overclocking Guide 4.5ghz settings. Asus P8P67. Air cooling. Stable. GLHF Computers - YouTube
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 11:19 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 57

My System Specs

Default

Watched the video you posted.

1. If you use Speedstep with your OC, then use Manual Offset instead of a fixed voltage so your voltage drops with your clock speed when using less demanding applications and while idle (ie: Offset +0.035 or 0.040). I use +0.040 for 4.6GHz.

2. DO NOT use Extreme LLC with ASUS boards, because Extreme tends to overvolt, so go one or two settings lower. I use Ultra High.

3. You can experiment with CPU Spread Spectrum, but I leave it Enabled. The guy in the video is wrong to say in all cases having it enabled is bad.

4. Bump your CPU Current to 110%.

5. Only change CPU voltage (using Offset mode) and RAM voltage (stock) to start for 4.5GHz overclock. Only change the others if you have stability problems.

Try at least the first two steps and let me know if your voltage under load drops.

Last edited by jurassic1024; April 25, 2012 at 11:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 03:11 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

see i always found that using the offset voltage changes to random voltages all the way as i climb up the ghz road but then again it's as simple as i don't have a lot of use with this feature

I don't know if it would be upping the voltage if the igpu is kicking it but makes sense

I just have mine set at 1.4 and it stays there for the GHZ i want to reach. there the folks are right the other way is better i just don't have time to figure it all out so many setting on these new boards lol i love'em but so much to learn still
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low voltage ram? ginman522 RAM 11 September 24, 2012 04:33 PM
help with ram voltage sempifer RAM 4 September 2, 2010 09:23 PM
Max VTT/IMC/QPI Voltage for P55? anthonee1230 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 14 February 25, 2010 12:31 PM
Ram voltage 1.5 or 1.9 johnnyblazzwa RAM 21 January 25, 2010 03:48 PM
i5 750 voltage? Draex Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 December 31, 2009 06:04 AM