Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 10:33 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default How do I overclock my RAM?

Hey guys. I am interested in overclocking my new ram I just got recently. I tried to simply change the speed from 1600 to 1866 in the bios and when it rebooted it ended up in an endless boot loop unable to even boot into the bios.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 10:35 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabz0r545 View Post
Hey guys. I am interested in overclocking my new ram I just got recently. I tried to simply change the speed from 1600 to 1866 in the bios and when it rebooted it ended up in an endless boot loop unable to even boot into the bios.
First what memory do you have? And what is it rated at?

Second to go from 1600 to 1866 you may need to increase voltages to get it stable.. but sometimes memory just won't run there.

Any reason you want to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 10:44 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

I have g.skill ARES which is rated at 1600 cl 9. No particular reason. Just thought I'd see if it will run faster.

Are there any good guides out there I can read? My google fu is weak.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 10:51 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabz0r545 View Post
I have g.skill ARES which is rated at 1600 cl 9. No particular reason. Just thought I'd see if it will run faster.

Are there any good guides out there I can read? My google fu is weak.
Honestly you won't see much benefit at overclocking your ram.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 10:52 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

You can increase the memory multiplier/ratio whatever it is called up one notch. Leave timings to auto, and see if it posts. Usually it will, but whether or not it is stable is another story. Alternatively you could you can try to reduce the timings @ 1600MHz. try 8-9-9-24, then 8-9-8-24, run memtest and see if it is stable. I'm not sure that the performance boost is worth the potential instablility though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 11:25 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

way to burst my bubble guys :P

Ok well I guess I won't even bother with it. I get a 7.9 on the WEI for the memory..... not that it means anything apparently. :P
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 11:30 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Heh... overclocking memory is typically a lot more finicky than oc'ing a cpu is. There are a ton of background auto settings you don't even get to see which need to be able to slowly adjust themselves rather than one quick shot. Best case scenario (IMO) is to set loose timings at stock fsb/htt/etc..... (whatever your standard clock settings are that your multi is based off of) and then slowly ramp that up to allow the motherboard to make those background settings.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 11:39 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

There's usually not anywhere near the OC headroom on DDR kits that there is on GPU's and CPU's. I think the chips get binned, i.e. your sticks are sold as 1600 Mhz because they wouldn't do 1866.

And as mentioned, you'll not notice any change in your day to day usage, only in benchmarking.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 08:14 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

overclocking ram is very very finicky and takes very small steps. Very few kits will do one speed grade higher without really tweaking them. Generally, 1600 at tight timings will be just as good as 1866 at looser timings, the small bump in speed rarely will show a benefit in performance vs the slower but much tighter settings. Is it worthwhile, it can be, but to ask a 1600kit to do 1866 without issue may be asking to much, 100-150Mhz without killing them quite possible, beyond this, you are usually very tricked out, OR running a VERY $ kit designed to clock like crazy.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 12:28 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

I recently overclocked my cpu to 4.2 ghz and through all the changing in the fsb speeds and multipliers my memory is only running at kind of a weird number 14** (cant remember to tired and lazy) even though its 1600 ddr3 ram. I have hardly HARDLY noticed anything whatsoever (gaming, running basic programs etc.) so I havent really gone into the bios since then to change it. I might some day if i get bored and feel like messing around in the bios all day and memtesting. Personally if its only giving me a slim performance boost Im not going to change it.( ^unless im bored lol)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gtx 560 ti overclock ravenger Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 May 10, 2012 07:30 PM
I want to overclock but need help Blu Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 April 11, 2012 02:47 PM
GTX 460 Sli Overclock gambel626 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 February 19, 2011 12:16 PM
i7 970 Overclock Fudd Rucker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 February 4, 2011 12:03 PM
Overclock on RAM quikgp RAM 6 December 12, 2009 11:59 AM