Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 05:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default prime 95 temperatures

hey i ran prime 95 for about an hour and i had temperatures around 68-69 C and was wondering if thats a good temp. I thought it would be lower because its liquid cooled. Should it be lower than this?

cpu: i7-970 3.2ghz oc 3.84
these temps are just since i turned my computer on i only had a couple web pages going.
just to be clear im doing the blend torture test
Attached Images
 

Last edited by ravenger; April 5, 2012 at 12:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 08:24 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

What core voltage?, what kind of liquid cooling? fan(s) used, case is a plus.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2012, 11:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

Voltage is 1.35

liquid cooling unit: asetek 550lc

case: nzxt phantom

fans:
top: 1 240
side 2 120
and on the radiator i have a push pull airflow set up

I have plenty of airflow in my case its huge but is my water cooling unit suck because i dont think it should be running this hot.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2012, 12:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

Those are actually pretty realistic numbers for an all in one unit. These sealed kits typically don't do much better than higher end air coolers, let alone an entry level Asetek kit. There simply isn't enough surface area to dissipate heat.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2012, 04:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

well is 1.35 volts to much for my OC? So i got a shitty cooling unit or what? would a corsair be better?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2012, 04:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

the voltage required depends on your cpu, the batch particularly so only you will know the answer whether 1.35 is too much or too little. and dont worry about the cooling, its actually really good for an i7 970
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2012, 04:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ravenger View Post
well is 1.35 volts to much for my OC? So i got a shitty cooling unit or what? would a corsair be better?
Every chip is different, one might need a ton of voltage to reach 4ghz and another might be able to do it at stock voltage. (although very rare) Overclocking is about finding out what your chip can do.

That Asetek unit is basically a Corsair H50. (Asetek made all the older Corsair water kits) Your temps aren't in the danger zone and you won't get much better performance unless you go for an elaborate watercooling setup. (which would cost you at least 3x as much as the cooler you currently have) High end air coolers or something like an H100 would probably net you 10% better cooling for twice the price of your current cooler.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2012, 06:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

is there something im not getting? I hear of people overclocking this stuff so high but then you tell me ill hardly get a little more speed without overheating my chip. Then even with an h100 id only get a 10% increase???!What would that land me just over 4 ghz?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2012, 06:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ravenger View Post
is there something im not getting? I hear of people overclocking this stuff so high but then you tell me ill hardly get a little more speed without overheating my chip. Then even with an h100 id only get a 10% increase???!What would that land me just over 4 ghz?
Nobody said anything about your chip overheating or reaching its clock speed limits.

What I said was you aren't going to get your chip much cooler without resorting to significantly more expensive cooling solutions. But it doesn't matter because your temperatures are fine as they are.

We have no idea on the potential of your chip since you haven't posted any information on things like voltage tweaks and the results of your stress tests. I would suggest you read some guides on overclocking 1366 chips if you really want to get past 4ghz. Sites like overclock.net have plenty of in depth guides that will help you tweak to your chip's maximum potential on conventional cooling.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2012, 07:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

ok thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimus Prime NASA Ad Arinoth Off Topic 0 March 2, 2012 04:23 AM
Transformer Prime and Excel FreeKnight Mobile Computing 3 December 16, 2011 05:29 AM
Asus Transformer Prime lcdguy Mobile Computing 16 December 10, 2011 08:20 PM
BE 965 + prime 95 Prolab Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 August 6, 2010 04:46 PM
Prime 95 Error RogerzRig Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 52 February 20, 2008 09:03 PM