Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 01:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default overclocking ram

I have 12gb of ddr3-1600 g-skill ram. I was checking out the bios and i saw it was running at 1282 mhz. I had my cpu overclocked by a local computer guy and its running at 3.84 ghz. my specs are:

intel i7-970 3.2 ghz OC 3.84 LC ( i know this clock can go much higher i plan to once i figure out how to OC
G-skill ripjaws ddr3 1600
tx850W PSU
asus p6x58e-pro
I think thats all you really need to know spec wise for this.

bclk : 160
uclk : 100

I know youll need to know voltages probably and stuff but just tell me what they are called and i will put them up. I had cpu-z i will post my specs but how do i take a screenshot of it

Last edited by ravenger; April 4, 2012 at 01:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 01:30 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,082

My System Specs

Default

Printscreen key gives you a screenshot in your clipboard, just paste it into paint or some other program.

Your memory is set on a 2:8 ratio, needs to be 2:10 to have your ram at 1600 mhz.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 03:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

what does that mean
and here is the mem info
i see what you mean now but how do i change it
Attached Images
 

Last edited by ravenger; April 4, 2012 at 03:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 03:52 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,082

My System Specs

Default

In your BIOS, under AI Tweaker there should be a DRAM Frequency setting. It's probably set to Auto right now. It might give you the ratio, or the actual frequency. Be warned that the frequency targeted is usually based on the Bclk being at the stock 100 Mhz.

Start at the lower frequencies and step your way up one at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 04:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

ok seems to work is there any stability tests i should run? and 1604mhz was the next step up so i selected that. Can g-skill ripjaws run higher? to run higher would i need to set voltages higher or would i have to figure that out trial and error? is there anything that i would notice to signal its not working properly?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 04:37 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

trial and error, and prime 95 testing. (There's probably another memory testing program out there, but I can't think of it right now.)

Higher overclocks usually mean more voltage. Key word is usually. Trial and error.

you'll notice crashes and blue screens.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking Nub I7 940 C0/C1 IITSChiefII Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 August 7, 2011 08:44 AM
gpu overclocking Jim Clifford Video Cards 5 May 30, 2011 05:34 PM
GTX 460 Overclocking jcmaz Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 December 3, 2010 06:33 AM
Needs some help overclocking lanken123 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 April 21, 2009 11:51 AM
Overclocking help tzetsin Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 41 January 27, 2008 11:05 PM