Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 09:06 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default Just got my X3350

I just got my X3350 today, and thought I'd scare some of my results so far. I'm currently running at 3.6GHz. Getting to 3.4GHz was extremely easy (next to no work done). But getting those 200MHz from 3.4 => 3.6 took a fairly large increase in voltage. I currently have the CPU running at 1.39v. I'm pretty sure I've got the CPU way higher than I need, but I've only had an hour or two to actually play around so far (I had to put together my parents PC). With my 8800GTX @ 684/1782/1053 and my X3350 @ 3.4GHz, I got a 3DMark06 score around 14.6k. SPi 1M took 12.830s (with ram timings way looser than they had to be, just for testing the CPU). Here are some pics of the proc/box:

If was very hard to not just rip open the box like a 6 year-old on Christmas morning.
Image of Box - Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Details from the bottom of the box:
Image of Box Detail - Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

And of course, the core itself! (Well cores really, there are 4 of them)
Image of Xeon Detail - Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


And here is the CPU-Z validation for 3.6GHz:
CPU-Z Validator 2.1

I'm about to run 3DMark06 @ 3.6GHz, so I'll update as soon as that has run.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 09:47 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

thats a sweet OC, how much was the X3350. Nice score
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 10:08 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

NCIX has them on special for $389.

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...l&promoid=1046
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 08:56 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Ya I ordered mine from NCIX on Friday, as well as a few parts to finish my parents PC.

My new 24/7 3DMark06 score is 15157.
ORB - Compare

Hopefully I'll be able to get more out of this chip. I've seen a couple people get 3.8 on air at XS, so hopefully since I'm on water I'll be able to get atleast that.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 09:38 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default

Nice-you have one of those lovely quadcores. How did you get such a good Oc on the GTX, are you using water as well? I guess you have a fair bit of tweaking ahead in the bios to get that chip up a bit.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 06:56 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Ya my GTX is on the same loop as my cpu (MCR 320 Rad with 3 85CFM fans on it). I'm also going to be (hopefully) getting my cousin to voltmod it. I'd do it myself but I suck at soldering, and hes in his fourth year of mechatronics at Waterloo so he has done it a ton. I sent him some pictures and he said if I got the resisitors and everything he'd be glad to do it.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 10:28 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 65
Default Xeon

do the xeon LGA775s work exactly the same as standard core 2s? I might pick up a 3320 for my rig.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2008, 05:21 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

I'm not 100% sure, but seeing as the E3110's are almost the exact same as the E8400's I figured this would be pretty much the same as the Q9450. The only difference is the Xeon's are usually binned a bit different warranty (lol) covers a smaller voltage range, and they are usually rated to a higher Tj since a room with a lot of servers can get pretty hot.

But how knows. Maybe this will come to bite me in the ass when the Q9450s are released, but I'm happy with it.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes