Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2012, 12:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default Q6600 OC help

Specs: Q6600 @ 3.2 Ghz, P5K-e wifi, 8 gb of ram, HD 5750, OCZ 550W Psu,

I managed to get a ratio of 1:1 with a frequency of 400 Mhz, but I'm using 2 different types of ram.

OCZ DDR2 PC2-8500 /1066 MHz 2x2Gb and Kingston HyperX 4GB 2X2Gb DDR2-1066
I did 8 x 400 = 3.2 Ghz and made the ram run at 800 Mhz to get 1:1 ratio.

But when i changed the ram to run at 1066 Mhz i get 4:3 ratio, but faster speeds.

So my question is should i leave it at 1066 Mhz or change it back to 800Mhz for more stability.
Also just wondering if this build can run a Gigabyte 6850 to full potential, I plan on running eyefinity.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2012, 01:00 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Hi - So if I understand correctly, you're OC using the higher freq and 4:3 is still about 3.2, right? So are you saying the memory is unstable at this setting? If so, then yes, go 800, otherwise keep it there.

the q600 won't limit that GPU in most applications.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2012, 06:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Babrbarossa that answered my question.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Q6600 MrFoxx Buy/Sell & Trade 3 May 13, 2009 07:07 AM
[WTB] Q6600 Phobia Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 12, 2009 10:19 AM
q6600 anything better? angy CPU's and Motherboards 5 November 2, 2008 04:56 PM
Wtb: Q6600 G0 m4xn00b Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 29, 2008 02:41 AM
Oem Q6600 Brando737 CPU's and Motherboards 2 December 16, 2007 12:22 PM