Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 09:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Had mine up to 4875 @ 1.4v but it runs too hot for my liking. Back down to 4750/1.38v. My gpu case dumper does not help, time to upgrade all case fans. Averaging 60k ppd with smp+gpu folding.
Very nice! I was doing a bit of optimizing as well before my SSD capped out, and I was at 4.5GHz with 1.28. Pretty happy with that little voltage and it was prime95 stable for two hours. I was in the process of seeing how far it could go when my SSD said, nah, I'm done lol.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 10:10 AM
slugbug's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal Area
Posts: 540
Default

Anyone here using an MSI X79A-GD45 with a 3820? Having trouble getting these settings to work with it.
__________________
Fractal Define XL|NZXT Hale 90 750w
MSI X79A-GD45|Core i7 3820
NZXT Havik 140|4 x 4 Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
OCZ SOLID 3 SSD|Seagate 1.0TB
2 X EVGA GTX 460 in SLI
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 01:02 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

I have to buy a water cooler if I want to run at 5gigs.I am running mine right now at 4.625gigs at 1.288v, idles at 27c to 29c and prime95 it does 62c to 58c but I just ran it about a hour. AT 5gigs at 1.375v it idles 39c to 37c and Prime95 80c to 79c I just ran it around 30 minutes,it started getting hotter then I wanted. This is with a 212 EVO on air .I learn the hard way not to set it to auto on the voltage .The ASRock Exetreme 4 don't have stap settings it is done automaticaly when setting the BCLK. I had the exetreme tuner install at set it to 125 and rebooted it and had the voltage on Auto and it was set at 42x and I did'nt pay attention that the BCLK was set at 125 .It did boot up in to windows but I seen my temps reading 49c at idle and I ran CPU-z and it was running at 5250 I called it 5.3g but my voltage was at 1.57v I started running prime 95 but it hit 88c quick and I quickly rebooted it. and then I set my voltages way down because I knew it would do 4.3g at 1.23v .that little $34 cooler does a great job plus I think I got a really good chip.But before I run it at 5gigs I want a CPU water cooler but I don't know which one is the best to go with.The way I understand the spec's you should'nt go over 66.8c and 1.35v .But I think as long as I keep my tempertures down 1.375v should be fine.These review sites has some crazy core voltages IMO.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2012, 01:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default i7 3820 temps

My stock temperatures are alright ? , i use Intel BXRTS2011AC , corsairs 300r stock fans + 1fan.
Idle i hit 38-41, while i play games i hit mostly 44-51 but after running Aida64 stress FPU for about 1 min the temp was 72c.

Thanks for advice.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2012, 01:49 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matteus™ View Post
My stock temperatures are alright ? , i use Intel BXRTS2011AC , corsairs 300r stock fans + 1fan.
Idle i hit 38-41, while i play games i hit mostly 44-51 but after running Aida64 stress FPU for about 1 min the temp was 72c.

Thanks for advice.
I see no problem there, you would get better temps going to a better cooler though.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2012, 02:12 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slugbug View Post
Anyone here using an MSI X79A-GD45 with a 3820? Having trouble getting these settings to work with it.
You have latest bios? I heard that the msi boards need bios updates to OC well. The factory bios isn;t that great for OC'n
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2012, 06:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Am just wonder because i didn't overclocked. Intel says 66.8°CTCASE (am not sure what is that) but all the cores are running about 66cc max expect the first one.
Maybe something wrong with the fan or with the thermal compound. My opinion not worth to upgrade for a noisy h80 just to see a small improvement.
The summer on my room i get bad ambient temps and am little worried about what should i buy for better cooling. I got medium case and my mobo has 8 ram channels so i don't have a lot of space for a big air fan.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 02:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

Hey would you mind posting some BIOS print screens when you find something stable that you like? I'm new to OCing and am finding it hard to sort through all these options on the Rampage Gene. I'm water cooling with a 450 rad if that makes a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2012, 12:47 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Hey there! :)

R4 Gene is a nice board - own the same with a i7-3820.

here's a few settings that asus recommended in their OC guide for x79…

go ahead and set 120% for cpu, vccsa and both DIMMs for power (DIGI+)
set load line REGULAR for cpu and vccsa
and set vrm mode to "optimized" for vcore and both dimm channels.

go ahead and set a multiplier of x42 on 100.00 and offset voltage with maybe -0.010 as a start.
vdimm = 1.500V or memory specific value
put in a memory divider - like 1600 or 1866, manual voltages on vccsa and vtt for a good start at 1.1V both (although the vtt is usually 2-3 clicks higher than vccsa to yield the same average voltage effectively)

punch in manual timings like 9-9-9-24 or whatever your memory says. could load XMP as well if you like - just make sure your vccsa and dimm voltages are what they are supposed to be (1.1v as stated above)

you may enable all cpu energy states (not auto)
disable intel thermal monitor and disable anti-surge protection.

this should get you on a really smooth 4.2GHz overclock - make sure you test your memory and cpu for stability running different apps, HCI memtest, prime and maybe IBT/LinX/OCCT

for more details, watch asus x79 videos! :)

oh, and something i found out tonight… memory mode 2 causes errors for me on ddr3-2333, but mode 1 works :)… currently trying to achieve a low-power but stable 4.75GHz with 2333 (dominator gt 2133 CL9 quad kit)

and - in case you get computation errors - try increasing vtt/vccsa rather than vcore - could be both or vice versa, you never know ;(
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2012, 03:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 58

My System Specs

Default

Man after watching this thread i want to oc my i7 920 to more than 4Ghz :(
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core i7-3820 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 45 April 8, 2012 05:27 AM
Intel I7-3820 released? dlactin2408 Press Releases & Tech News 2 February 16, 2012 09:20 AM
iBUYPOWER Incorporates New Intel Core i7 3820 Into Its Gaming Desktops Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 February 13, 2012 01:43 PM
Intel to Release Intel Core i7-3820 on February 13 Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 1 January 7, 2012 04:25 PM