Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 08:30 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default Memory Overclocking

First off i've never, ever touch my memory speed, i dont know how it works so i'm in need of help

is it best to lower the timing or get them higher for better performance ?

also do i just adjust the timing by 1 then restart the pc and run memtest threw a cd while boot ?

how do i know what speed i can raise it ?

what i am currently at :


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This is Corsair Vengance DDR3 rated at 1600Mhz but not close to running at it, even if i set it to 1600 my pc will not post

so i'll need all the little help i can take
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 08:54 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Higher speeds will generally give you more benefit than tighter timings. As long as your ram is stable at stock, there should be no need to run memtest. You can run any stress test to gauge stability, prime95, linx etc

You might want to try setting xmp in the bios, this should load the performance profile for the ram. Best bet though is to manually enter the settings yourself. Have a look at what your sticks are supposed to run at... I'm guessing your voltage may have defaulted too low to run @1600,it looks like you're running 4x4GB?

Try setting the first 3 timings the & voltage, if you set it to 1600 in bios it will read as 800 in cpu-z (right now you're running at 1333)
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 09:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

what revision is it

if its 8.16 rma it

either run it @ 1.6-1.65v or rma


even my crappy 2x4gb 1600 cas9 snipers can do 2000mhz 1.6v
my 2133 cas9 2x4gb can do 2280mhz
i'm so glad i don't buy corsair
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 09:53 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

XMP on will not boot, default timing is what you see in the CPU-Z Screenie and Stock voltage for these ram stick is 1.5V and yes its 4x 4GB Sticks
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 10:13 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

only thing i can see on the tags is Ver2.12
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2012, 05:49 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 103

My System Specs

Default

If you have the same stuff I do, I couldn't get it to post at 1600Mhz either without raising the voltage until I set the timings manually. The timings for the vengeance I have are 9-9-9-27 and it auto sets them to 9-9-9-24 @ 1333Mhz which is the SPD latency but my ram didnt like me running it at 1600Mhz with those timings unless i upped the voltage.

If you want to run them at 9-9-9-24 which is the SPD latency then you need to have the ram running at 1333Mhz if you want to run it at 1600Mhz you need to up the Timings to 9-9-9-27. Keep voltage at 1.5V unless you are overclocking.

Vengeance®
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2012, 08:11 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Delay (in your memory) is a function with 2 factors, timings and speed.

The lower the timings, the lower the delay. The higher the clock speed, the lower the delay.

For example, cas6@1333MHz = 9 nanoseconds, cas9@2000MHz = 9 nanoseconds. Another example: cas9@1333mhz = 13.5 nanoseconds, cas9@1600MHz = 11.25 nanoseconds.

So if you have to slightly loosen timings (that is increase them slightly) to make it work, you probably won't notice any more or less delay.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2012, 11:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 57

My System Specs

Default

XMP profiles are JDEC presets. No overclocking there. You said you wanted to improve performance, so start by changing XMP to Manual. Then all your memory timings in bios to AUTO, and Memory speed/frequency to what it says on the RAM ie: DDR3 1600MHz.

You will benefit more from higher frequency versus tighter timings, but you may need to loosen your timings and/or raise RAM/IMC voltage. ie: to go from 1600MHz to 1866MHz, you may need to go from ie: 9-9-9-27 1T, to 10-11-10-30 and/or 2T. Some setups require more voltage, and some will allow higher frequencies and/or looser timings with no voltage increase at all. Another factor is the voltage of your IMC (ie: VCCIO) on the CPU. This also may have to be raised to support the memory overclock. So basically, your results will vary. What you said in your original post about making changes and testing them, is spot on. Use Prime95-Blend and Memtest. Do a search online for how long you should test for, and decide on a comfortable time. Some will say they test for 1 hour, while others say 12 hours. In the end it will be up to you to decide.

CPU overclocks I will test for 4-10 hours (Intel Burn Test and Prime95 Small FFT). If I'm overclocking closer to the thermal limit of the CPU, I will test for longer than I would for a smaller CPU overclock over stock.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2012, 12:47 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

If I recall with 2500k the QPI is 1.35v and the ram max of 1.65v, look at the XMP/Jedec profile, you may not be selecting the proper one, I know Gskill and Corsair to my knowledge had 2 different profiles set for thier ram, first one with higher volts was for the first gen i7 series, second profile for second gen or sandy-bridge(2500-2600 chips) they have different QPI voltages ram settings etc, choosing the first gen i7 profiles will 99% of time cause the chip to BSOD due to safeguards kicking in.

9,9,9,24-27 but may need a touch more volts i.e instead of 1.5 try 1.51 and such, it may help. simply, if there is not enough voltage fed to the IMC(QPI) then it will BSOD its designed to. The other thing in regards to timings is running them 1T or 2T can sometimes make a world of difference.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2012, 02:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0k0 View Post
only thing i can see on the tags is Ver2.12
those should be real good revision

set voltage to 1.6v n go 1866-2133 9-11-9-28-6-160
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apacer Announces ARES DDR3-2133 MHz Dual Channel Memory Kits for Overclocking Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 6 July 3, 2011 10:35 AM
Patriot Memory Announces New AMD Black Edition Ready G2 Series Memory Kits Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 14, 2011 09:57 AM
ripjaw memory overclocking kendallcschm Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 July 17, 2010 03:43 PM
G.Skill Releases the World's Fastest Memory, DDR3 2500 MHz Dual-Channel Memory Kit FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 10 April 14, 2010 07:49 AM
Hardware Upgrade's 11 kit DDR2 memory overclocking roundup Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 January 3, 2007 08:27 PM