Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2012, 04:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 51

My System Specs

Default 2600k 4.5ghz at 1.288v, temps so-so. UPDATED. See OP

Hi there.
I've recently started trying to overclock my new computer. Here are the specs:

i7 2600k
Asus p8z68-v pro.
8gb Corsair 1.35v 1600 ram
no gpu until the new ones come out
Hitachi 2tb
OCZ Vertex 3 120gb boot drive
Corsair tx750v2 psu
Silverstone Raven 2 case
Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo cooler.

I've never overclocked a computer before. Here's a pic of CPUz and Core Temp after an hour of Prime95 blend test.
I'm still learning about all that Greek in the eufi, but I think I did ok for a first time.
The weird temp spread makes me think my thermal paste (Arctic 5) is lop sided. Also, thinking back to my build, I don't think I tightened the cooler retention bracket all the way.
I'm going to down clock for now until I get my temps sorted out, or buy a better cooler.

But 1.288 vcore for 4.5ghz isn't bad, is it??

----------------

Mar 11. Post #14 was the last one before I'm updating this.

I got around to re mounting my cooler. It didn't look like I used enough Arctic 5 thermal paste.
I applied more this time, put it all back together and ran Intel Burn Test for 10 runs on MAX.

My CURRENT overclock is 4.4ghz at 1.25vcore. My max temperatures were 56c 62c 65c 58c in CoreTemp. That is with my Silverstone RV-02e 180mm case fans on low.
Thats not too bad. I lost 8c just by properly mounting my heat sink. My house is always set at 18c, but I'm sure there's plenty of room for error from ambient temperatures.

I still don't know why that one core is always hotter than the rest.

P.S. That is the old picture below.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by BukitHedd; March 11, 2012 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2012, 06:34 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,048

My System Specs

Default

I'd say leave it as is and call it a day. Nothing wrong with those temps imho.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2012, 07:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,058

My System Specs

Default

Temps look great, but are you 100% stable at that low of a voltage? (AVX on Win7 SP1)
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2012, 07:29 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Based off the program I see running I assume your using P95. Are you running SmallFFT test?
Have you ran LinX and see what happens?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2012, 07:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

my 2500k goes to 65 on highest core at 1.35v, try disabling hyperthreading because it increases temps by a few degrees and see if you get around the same temperature. Im using hyper212+ on lowfan settings, try editting the asus fan xpert in alsuite

Last edited by Ed103194; February 21, 2012 at 08:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2012, 09:03 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

your temps are great nothing to worry about at all that's core temps man your no where near the max at all just throw another fan on your heatsink you got a good one
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2012, 09:58 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Temps seem fine but 1.288v for 4.5ghz seems a little low like others have said. It's easy to overclock but making sure the system is stable will take a while. While prime95 is a good stress test I find it won't always show system instability since I've ran prime95 before for 12hrs no errors but first 5 mins into folding at home I get an early end unit unstable machine error which was fixed by one more notch up in voltage. You should always stress test with more than one program, Intel burn or AVX should be good alternative options.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 04:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 51

My System Specs

Default

I tuned back to 4.4ghz, and 1.25vcore. The heat bothered me, but I see from reading all the responses it was probably fine.

I ran small fft in prime 95 all night, for almost 9 hours with no errors or warnings, and my temps never exceeded 69c.

After work today I'll download the programs you've suggested and give it another run.

I don't quite understand why my cpu is almost hitting 70c at 1.25v when others claim much higher vcores with the same cooler with LOWER temps. I'm going to remount the cooler tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 09:09 AM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Yea a remount will probably help make sure you clean off the old thermal paste with 99% rubbing alcohol(you may have to ask for it at the drug store) also if you can pick up slightly better thermal paste. I prefer MX-4 but there's also AS5, IC7 and IC24(very expensive) you'll probably get a few degrees drop vs stock CM paste. Also run push pull config on the 212 Evo and you'll probably drop another degree or two.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 10:00 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 51

My System Specs

Default

I used Arctic silver 5.

I was afraid of bending the motherboard so I didn't tighten my cooler all the way.

I now realize that was flawed logic. Lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R3E 980X 4.5Ghz w/HT turtletrax Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 19, 2011 08:33 PM
2600k idle temps cmge Air Cooling 7 September 7, 2011 05:40 PM
Intel LGA1155 i7 2600K w/ Biostar P67 achieve 5GHz Air cooling windwithme Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 December 7, 2010 09:37 AM
i7 920 can't get past 3.5Ghz fjanicki Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 November 2, 2010 03:46 PM
Arg Can't get to 3.5Ghz !!! Tango3 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 April 17, 2009 07:42 PM