Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 10:10 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BukitHedd View Post
I used Arctic silver 5.

I was afraid of bending the motherboard so I didn't tighten my cooler all the way.

I now realize that was flawed logic. Lol.
Ya, re mount and paste the cooler, then fully tighten the cooler. I would also add a second fan, who knows sometimes a few C can let you get a higher OC, or lower volts a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 10:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

What type of spread are you using for your paste?

Try the last method shown here: http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.ph...1&limitstart=5
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 03:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 51

My System Specs

Default

I put a grain of rice sized dot in the middle of the cpu.
My coolermaster 212 is the one with the smoother(er) bottom than the one with the odd groves where copper meets aluminum.

I just did 10 runs on Intel Burn Test at very high setting and didn't get any errors.
That one hotter core peaked at 70c for a short period, but stayed around 68c. The other 3 cores were mid-low 60s.

Does 9hrs of small FFT in Prime 95 and my Intel burn test tonight make my overclock stable? Or at least NOT unstable?

To reiterate, 1.25 vcore at 4.4ghz.

I'm too lazy to remount my cooler tonight. I'll do it later in the week and then start oc-ing higher.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 04:24 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Yea the 212 Evo has no gaps between the heat pipes at the base of the heatsink like the 212+ does. Also with the 212 Evo I don't see any difference between pasting the cooler first or the cpu first(I've tried both) with the 212+ I can understand because of the gaps. What ever seems to work best for you for spread patterns so long at it's something sensible. I use 4 point star or square methods myself and I get decent temps and coverage on the cpu.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2012, 01:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 51

My System Specs

Default

I remounted my cooler. Everything got cooler lol. I updated the original post with the details.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2012, 01:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

as5 requires curing time, you should pick up a tube of mx4 or lap your heatsink if you are so worried about your temperatures
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2012, 02:40 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

You only really see a couple degree drop if any after the curing time for AS5 so it's nothing major. As for the one core always being a little hotter there could be a few reasons for it, could be a calibration error with the temp sensor or even the program may be at fault as well. However your temps look fine so long as the core temps remain within safe limits there shouldn't be anything to worry about so long as lets say one core says 85c and the rest say 55c then you'd have a problem.


Also WTF?>>>

Quote:
Originally Posted by BukitHedd View Post
My house is always set at 65c, but I'm sure there's plenty of room for error from ambient temperatures.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2012, 02:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 51

My System Specs

Default

65c is a little hot lol. My house is 65 fahrenheit. I'll edit that one right now.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2012, 03:28 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

lol yea 65c is a little hot for room temp
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2012, 07:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Victoria, B.C.
Posts: 25
Default

Sweet, nice OC u got there!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R3E 980X 4.5Ghz w/HT turtletrax Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 19, 2011 08:33 PM
2600k idle temps cmge Air Cooling 7 September 7, 2011 05:40 PM
Intel LGA1155 i7 2600K w/ Biostar P67 achieve 5GHz Air cooling windwithme Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 December 7, 2010 09:37 AM
i7 920 can't get past 3.5Ghz fjanicki Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 November 2, 2010 03:46 PM
Arg Can't get to 3.5Ghz !!! Tango3 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 April 17, 2009 07:42 PM