Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2012, 11:17 AM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tobin Lake, SK
Posts: 302

My System Specs

Default

Wheres the screenshot of someone with the Shaw 250 Broadband! I wanna see it with my own eyes!
  • Up to 250 Mbps download speed
  • Up to 15 Mbps upload speed
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2012, 12:23 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

WOW I just ran the test again, been runnin it every day for about a week. I'm really pissed off at shaw. I am paying for 100 mbps but have only been getting ~50 mbps.

I ran the test back when this thread started and got 96 mbps.

HOW LONG HAVE THEY BEEN RIPPING ME OFF?
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2012, 03:35 AM
sa seba's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 280

My System Specs

Default

I am supposed to have only 25Mbs but somehow, tonight I got this:



I love it when they make mistakes :)
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2012, 06:28 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabz0r545 View Post
WOW I just ran the test again, been runnin it every day for about a week. I'm really pissed off at shaw. I am paying for 100 mbps but have only been getting ~50 mbps.

I ran the test back when this thread started and got 96 mbps.

HOW LONG HAVE THEY BEEN RIPPING ME OFF?

READ the fine print

the contract says up to 100mbps not @ 100mbps

so they see how much bandwidth using an thottled you back ?
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2012, 09:23 AM
Painbringer71's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 89

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
READ the fine print

the contract says up to 100mbps not @ 100mbps

so they see how much bandwidth using an thottled you back ?
Charter communications did that to me. I paid for 5 meg service after a year I could not even connect to the internet. I thought I had a virus so weeks went by with no service and me trying every malware software out there. Everything worked like I had a connection and of course on their end everything was fine. But no service. Every call to the techs for support was off shore, and you had to go through the script every time. Bad bad bad 2 system total clean installs 2 modems 1 tech to house 2 hours of him scratching his head. 1 phone call after the 2 hours they bumped up the bandwidth. Everything worked perfect. Then a week later a storm came through and knocked out power. When the power was back up I had no internet again. I cancelled service and went with someone else itís a happily ever after story
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2012, 11:13 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,813

My System Specs

Default

Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2012, 02:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default

Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2012, 05:05 PM
Shax's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Default



The fastest speeds that Telus offers in my town of 15000. My family up North in a town of 200 get triple that.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 08:15 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Bell's only Service available here.. 40$ month unlimited download, suposed to be 2mbps DL/ UL i dont know

Also im torrenting ATM

__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2012, 09:19 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default

I think that it is kind of funny especially if you watch a shaw commercial, it doesn't say gives you this much or that much it says "up to" lol.
no company can guarantee you a speed because there are way to many variables if you fire up wireshark or something like that and just have your pc idle with out a web browser or anything like bit torrent or file sharing program you will probably see activity running which takes up a bit of bandwidth.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird internet speed _dangtx_ Off Topic 16 August 16, 2010 05:48 PM
what is your internet speed. tzetsin Off Topic 70 June 3, 2010 04:09 PM
slow internet speed under windows 7 Kyure Networking 6 March 17, 2010 01:11 PM
Speed up your internet... Squeetard Networking 14 January 13, 2009 11:31 AM
Need High Speed Cable Internet - Please Help Dashock Off Topic 29 April 7, 2008 08:15 PM