Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #111 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2012, 10:00 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,036

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliverthefrenchy View Post
Switched to Bell Fibe last spring when they finally upgraded their network to 100% fiber all the way to your home here in Quebec City .
Kinda funny how it's fiber but yet uses speeds you can just about attain on DSL and have had on cable forever.

When someone tells me they have Fibre to the door I'm expecting 100 or 1000mbit. Honestly, who cares what medium you use for transferring? I'd use carrier pigeon if it gave me gigabit with low enough latency....
Reply With Quote
  #112 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2012, 10:11 AM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

It is real fibre though. Bell has two: 50/50 and 175/175. I just wish they would offer these real ones in my neighbourhood, not the crappy faux fibre.
__________________
Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night — Isaac Asimov
All thinking men are atheists — Ernest Hemingway
Faith means not wanting to know what is true — Friedrich Nietzsche


Reply With Quote
  #113 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2012, 12:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Kinda funny how it's fiber but yet uses speeds you can just about attain on DSL and have had on cable forever.

When someone tells me they have Fibre to the door I'm expecting 100 or 1000mbit. Honestly, who cares what medium you use for transferring? I'd use carrier pigeon if it gave me gigabit with low enough latency....
I used to have a TGV 65/5 from Videotron before that and at max ever managed to get 40/3 out of it, and at time it used to be the best you could get around here. Videotron's service was around 20$ more expensive than what I have now with Bell, with only 150gb per month, costing me extras every month.

In Quebec the 2 main ISPs if you want the fastest are pretty much Bell and Videotron, and neither of them are cheap. In my case switching to Bell was a good move for the extra 100gb per month and the constant speeds and balanced network overall.

Now I never tried to sell the fact that I had fiber, that's the last thing I care about. As long as I get what I pay for, im fine with it.

Don't expect to see anything close to 1000mbit in the next 4-5 years around here haha, or if they ever do so, they will put ridiculously low caps like 300gb per month
Reply With Quote
  #114 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2012, 12:52 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,036

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeaverBender View Post
It is real fibre though. Bell has two: 50/50 and 175/175. I just wish they would offer these real ones in my neighbourhood, not the crappy faux fibre.
Well those are decent, but I bet the bandwidth caps suck still.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliverthefrenchy View Post
I used to have a TGV 65/5 from Videotron before that and at max ever managed to get 40/3 out of it, and at time it used to be the best you could get around here. Videotron's service was around 20$ more expensive than what I have now with Bell, with only 150gb per month, costing me extras every month.
At this point the best thruput you get around here is on cable for 100mbit/5mbit

Telus used to advertise that their service wasn't "shared" but that's all crap. It's eventually shared somewhere, doesn't matter where. It does matter if there is a bottleneck at that share point or not.

Anyway, my "shared" cable is probably the best service I've ever had, with an outage of maybe once a year. Mind you, I've got that same level of quality from Telus too, they could only offer me 3mbit. After two years of waiting I bailed and absolutely never regretted it.
Reply With Quote
  #115 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2012, 07:04 AM
Chasingu's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

Reply With Quote
  #116 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2012, 10:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia, USA!
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default



Over wifi, and the router is downstairs across the house
Reply With Quote
  #117 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2012, 01:26 AM
Rollergold's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default


My upload
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Genius Jr. View Post


Over wifi, and the router is downstairs across the house
I envy that upload speed
__________________

Asus P6X58-E WS | i7 920 D0 @ 4.01ghz W/ Apogee HD Block | 24gb (3x 8gb) Corsair Vengeance 1600 | 2x EVGA GTX 680 SC's in SLI W/ XSPC Razor Blocks |
4x 1tb WD Black Drives | SB Recon 3D PCIe | Swiftech MP655-SE Pump | Swiftech Maelstrom Res | CM HAF 932 | Corsair HX 850 (3 yr's old) | Asus VH236H + PA238QR
Reply With Quote
  #118 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2012, 03:15 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia, USA!
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollergold View Post

My upload

I envy that upload speed
lol, if it makes you fell any better my router is terrible and right now I am getting 2mb/s upload and download
Reply With Quote
  #119 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 11:52 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia, USA!
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

New Asus Wifi router


Over 5ghz wifi network about 100ft and 3 walls away.
Reply With Quote
  #120 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 12:02 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default



Man do I ever love my FibeOp
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird internet speed _dangtx_ Off Topic 16 August 16, 2010 05:48 PM
what is your internet speed. tzetsin Off Topic 70 June 3, 2010 04:09 PM
slow internet speed under windows 7 Kyure Networking 6 March 17, 2010 01:11 PM
Speed up your internet... Squeetard Networking 14 January 13, 2009 11:31 AM
Need High Speed Cable Internet - Please Help Dashock Off Topic 29 April 7, 2008 08:15 PM