Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 02:48 PM
saihossoku's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 28
Default What Are My Odds??

Okay, so my journey with AMD has come to an end and I've picked myself a Intel Q6600 2.4GHz and a Asus Maximus Formula mobo. Also grabbed the the Zalman CNPS9700 LED as well as a second Radeon 3870x2 (Diamond to be coupled with my Sapphire), what are the chances of me hitting at least 3GHz with my setup? Any suggestions and/or comments are welcome.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHz Overclocked @ 3.61GHz
Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 750watt PSU
Asus Maximus Formula BIOS v1004
8GB OCZ PC2-6400 800MHz Vista Performance Platinum Edition @ 5-5-5-15 2T
Dual Radeon 3870x2's (Stock for now)
WD Raptor 74GB 10,000rpm SATA | WD 500GB 7200rpm SATA | WD 500GB 7200rpm SATA
LG DVD-RW Dual Layer SATA
Antech 900 Advance Gaming Case
42" LG LCD 1920x1080p | BenQ W5000 1080p LCD Projector 155"
Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 02:50 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

100%.

Unless you stumbled across a very bad chip.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 02:54 PM
saihossoku's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
100%.

Unless you stumbled across a very bad chip.
Good to know, thanks. :)
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHz Overclocked @ 3.61GHz
Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 750watt PSU
Asus Maximus Formula BIOS v1004
8GB OCZ PC2-6400 800MHz Vista Performance Platinum Edition @ 5-5-5-15 2T
Dual Radeon 3870x2's (Stock for now)
WD Raptor 74GB 10,000rpm SATA | WD 500GB 7200rpm SATA | WD 500GB 7200rpm SATA
LG DVD-RW Dual Layer SATA
Antech 900 Advance Gaming Case
42" LG LCD 1920x1080p | BenQ W5000 1080p LCD Projector 155"
Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 03:02 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

I have 3.2GHZ with the Q6600's little brother, the X3210, using 1.275V, and the stock cooler! You can EASILY get 3.2. I would personally be aiming for 3.6GHZ, probably need about 1.4V or a little more. The Maximus Loves quadcores!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 03:05 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
100%.

Unless you stumbled across a very bad chip.
0%

Unless you get a normal chip.

;)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 03:29 PM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

I just got a Q6600 as well. How far do you think I can OC it with just the stock HSF? I got a CM 690 case so it has plenty of room for case fans. I don't really feel like shelling out another $50 for a aftermarket HSF and have to mount and clean up thermal paste etc again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 03:51 PM
saihossoku's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
I have 3.2GHZ with the Q6600's little brother, the X3210, using 1.275V, and the stock cooler! You can EASILY get 3.2. I would personally be aiming for 3.6GHZ, probably need about 1.4V or a little more. The Maximus Loves quadcores!
That's why I grabbed that mobo! :) I figured 3.2 easily, my Zalman cooler is a beast, so hitting 3.6 with a little tweaking shouldn't be too hard.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHz Overclocked @ 3.61GHz
Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 750watt PSU
Asus Maximus Formula BIOS v1004
8GB OCZ PC2-6400 800MHz Vista Performance Platinum Edition @ 5-5-5-15 2T
Dual Radeon 3870x2's (Stock for now)
WD Raptor 74GB 10,000rpm SATA | WD 500GB 7200rpm SATA | WD 500GB 7200rpm SATA
LG DVD-RW Dual Layer SATA
Antech 900 Advance Gaming Case
42" LG LCD 1920x1080p | BenQ W5000 1080p LCD Projector 155"
Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 04:25 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewguy001 View Post
I just got a Q6600 as well. How far do you think I can OC it with just the stock HSF? I got a CM 690 case so it has plenty of room for case fans. I don't really feel like shelling out another $50 for a aftermarket HSF and have to mount and clean up thermal paste etc again.
You should. You would see a world of difference. As for oc'ing with the stock cooler, don't ask for much...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 05:00 PM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewguy001 View Post
I don't really feel like shelling out another $50 for a aftermarket HSF and have to mount and clean up thermal paste etc again.
Do eet! One of the best things you can do for OC'ing, and really, after paying how much for your Q6600 does an extra $50 to get the most out of the chip really that bad? Actually, I think it doesn't make much sense to not get a aftermarket.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 05:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: mississauga
Posts: 42
Default

3.15 is mild I've had it up to 3.4 on air with no problems but the temps start getting hot aroud there
just update your BIOS to 0907
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Krixxer; March 4, 2008 at 05:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odds on a worthwhile step-up from 8800GT in the next 90 days? rommelrommel Video Cards 2 February 1, 2008 10:29 AM