Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 08:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 143
Default What is my bottleneck?

P5Q3 MOBO
8GB DDR3 Ripjaw ram
Q9550 CPU @ 3.7ghz (under water, stable as a rock)
Asus HD 5850 (the newer model) OC edition.

So, basically, in a game like battlefield 3 or skyrim, what would be holding me back form better FPS? Basically, I want to spend some time now working on overclocks on either my CPU or my GPU, I'm just not sure which is out-performing which right now.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 09:18 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

GPU. The CPU should be more than enough for that video card, especially overclocked to 3.7 and at BF3.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 10:42 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

should be no bottle necking at all with that I run an old 285 gtx 2gb fine with both those games I even fold in the background while playing .Tecknically If your screen refreshes at 85Hz and your game runs at 50Hz (=50fps): Are you sure that you don't need to synchronize them? Are you sure, you don't need to play with a multiple of 85 to enjoy synchronized refresh updates? So the game running at 85fps may better than at 100fps. Maybe even a TFT display was better. It displays only with about 40fps.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 10:58 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,536

My System Specs

Default

First of all, whats your resolution? But i would say your GPU.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 11:05 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Whats your Resolution and what are your Framerates in those games you mentioned.....I wouldn't think you would have any bottleneck at all on that set-up..at a lower Resolution...higher Resolution that GPU certainly will hold you back with BF3 DX11 and all the eye candy ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 06:18 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 143
Default

1920x1080. In BF3, on the highest settings, I get framerate slowing down in firefights and close quarter combat (down to about 20FPS). In skyrim, on the highest settings I hover between 25-45 FPS, with a bit of a slow down when there is a lot of action, naturally.

So, the GPU is where I'll start, taking the advice you've all given. Correct?

I bought the Asus EAH HD 5850 because I knew it was a solid overclocker, so now I get to put that to the test and bump it up a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 09:23 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

What kind of resolution does your monitor support? also if that card over clocks pretty solid and it does bring up your frame rates enough then maybe just grab an after market cooler so you could overclock it even higher.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 10:17 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

can you try playing with a gpu monitor open see if your card is hitting 100% usage?

I know for me bf3 maxxes my dual 570 on ultra and fps drops in fire fights, but if i lower post processing a little my gpu usages only hits at 93% and I get consistant fps
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 570 bottleneck bosslol Video Cards 13 August 21, 2011 12:52 AM
Where is my bottleneck now... Skyllz Video Cards 11 July 21, 2010 08:07 PM
Will my CPU bottleneck the GTX 260 shaman44 Video Cards 15 March 29, 2010 08:46 PM
Bottleneck - GPU or CPU? mattydies Video Cards 15 July 6, 2009 10:32 PM
Gtx 260 - 280 Cpu Bottleneck? aviduser Video Cards 5 February 4, 2009 02:34 PM